Tosh point blah, whatever.

Honestly, I could not give a fuck about this Tosh/Rape thing.  All though, it’s got me all riled up, so I guess I do care.  The world is in a huge kerfuffle about it (god, I’ve been dying to use that world all week), and I think it’s fucking pointless.

(This is part of the reason why I keep most of my opinions to myself – UNPOPULAR!)

Opinions are like assholes; everyone’s got one. Eh, here’s mine.

Reason number one that I don’t care: honestly, I don’t think Tosh is funny.  Granted, I am known for having no sense of humor (or a sense of humor most don’t understand), and having terrible taste in, well, most everything.  Whatevs.  He annoys me to no end.  So really?  Anything he says is just blahblahblahnoisenoisenoise in the background of my life.  Ain’t none of my nevermind.  So really, I don’t give a crap what he says or does. One of those, hey, if you don’t like it, ignore it sort of things.

Second reason that I don’t give a crap is…well, complicated. Maybe. I don’t know.  In the past, I’ve touched upon my story of sexual assault/rape at the hands of an ex of mine back in the day.  And how I went to a victims/survivors support group, and was made to feel like my situation wasn’t as bad. Wasn’t official or whatever.  Which has caused me a great deal of grief, mental anguish and all sort of other terrible feelings.  To this day (10+ years later), I still don’t know/feel if what happened to me can be considered sexual assault/rape.  As many people who have validated me, have invalidated me.  So, if my experience is a fucking joke, why the fuck should I care of someone else makes jokes about rape?

Of course, I’m mad at the world in general for being too damn sensitive about everything. Don’t get me wrong, there’s shit out there that offends me.  But most of the time, I’m just like, eh…live and let be.  People are going to say stupid shit, but it’s not really worth making a big deal over.  My blood pressure is high enough as it is.  If I jumped onto every bandwagon or waved a banner over the cause of the day…I’d die of a heart attack.

Bigger fish to fry, people.  I’ve got a meeting with a client I can’t stand, and I have to fire someone tomorrow.  THAT’s the shit that causes me to lose sleep.  Not some dude joking about rape.

(Sorry to those who I know disagree with me on this.)

 

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

