So sick, so sick of being tired and oh so tired of being sick.

 

So I’m on Day 8 of the Death Plague.  Over the past week, I’ve been a mixture of feverish, achy, nauseous, congested and laryngitic.  Twice this past week I’ve pushed myself (for my hub’s band‘s gig and for my friend’s birthday) past what I should have.  I’m sure that’s not helping my recovery at all.  Late nights and Coors Lights are not the remedy, folks.

It is Sunday afternoon, and I have 2 meetings tomorrow, 4 or 5 other tasks to tackle, and who knows how many other fires to put out.  So I am on the couch, still in my pajamas, with no intention of showering or changing.  It’s 430pm; my guess is bedtime will be Ambien-induced at around 630.

I’ve had a headache on and off for 3 days. Almost a migraine.  Everything seems too bright and too loud.

I am a whiny, crabby baby when I’m sick.  I hate being non-functional and feeling less-than-okay.  I really would like this bullshit to end soon.

Meanwhile, I got my 15-pound sticker from Weight Watchers yesterday.  15 pounds down since the beginning of the year.  20 pounds down total since the wedding.  I reached that goal before the one-year anniversary.  I’m pretty proud of that, actually.  I still have a long way to go. I look in the mirror and I don’t see much of a difference.  A little, but not a lot.  I’ve still got clothes in smaller sizes that I don’t fit into yet.  I’ll get there, though.

WHOA. Flipping channels like I do, I came across a video from the Woodie awards.  What the fuck are the Woodie awards anyway?  As far as I can tell, it’s some MTV awards show celebrating pretentious, tuneless indie crap.  OY VEY. The “performance” I caught was a song called “Dance, Dance, Dance” by Lykke Li.  WOW, that is just all sorts of terrible.  Oh, look, here’s a video of her performing it with Bon Iver.  It’s torturous stuff.  Slapping chains against the pavement and kazoos — that’s  true MUSIC, true ART, people.

…um, yeah.

Look, I know that my “taste” in music is somewhat questionable at times.  I mean, currently, I’m playing THIS a lot (side note: kind of a bummer that Sia is not actually in the video).  So clearly, I’m not a believer in all music being serious and making a statement and shit.  But…I am a fan of catchy melodies.  Hooks.  At the very least, something a bit better than some high-pitched, indecipherable warbling.

And on that note, Ms. Crankypants is going to go watch some Food Network (because, if I can’t eat it while dieting, I might as well watch TV shows about it).

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

