In the arms of sleep

 

I’m having sleep issues lately.

EXHIBIT A:

On Thursday night, I went to Gilly’s, and came home, around midnight-ish, and went to bed.  In the bedroom.  Eric came home from work around 230 or 3am, to find me asleep on the couch, blanket wrapped around me.  He nudged me and asked  what I was doing on the couch.  I said, “‘neepin’” (sleepin’).  He asked me why I was on the couch (as opposed to the bedroom), and I said, “‘Cause I can.”  Eric said, “Well, yes, you can, but you should come to bed in the bedroom.”  As he was guiding me back to the bedroom, I think I somehow woke up or snapped out of it.  I was all, “What am I doing out here?”

I remember none of the conversation, and I don’t remember moving into the living room and settling in on the couch.  Normally, I’d attribute it to “Oh, I was drunk and I just don’t remember”….BUT.  I wasn’t terribly drunk that night, and usually, if I’m told what happened, a lightbulb goes on and I’m all “OH YEAHHHHH.

I’ve got nothing, no recollection, no lightbulb, no nothing.

So Friday night, being the crazygirl and over-reactor that I am, I was scared to go to sleep. I didn’t go out at all, just sat on the couch and watched TV for about 12 hours straight.  I was just starting to doze off around 3am when Eric got home.

EXHIBIT B:

Saturday night, I woke up several times during the night to pee.  During one of those times, I noticed that the bottle of liquid soap was not on the counter of the sink.  So I wandered around the house looking for it, and found it in the bedroom, placed next to my bottle of water.   Apparently at some point, I moved it.  Again, NO RECOLLECTION of this.  I had gone out Saturday night, but again, not crazy wasted or anything.

EXHIBIT C:

Yesterday, I was tired.  So very, very tired.  As in a cup of coffee, 2 espresso shots and I’m still yawning tired.  I nearly fell asleep at my desk several times.  I got home from work at 5pm and crawled into bed.  Didn’t even eat dinner, which is odd in itself (when do I choose SLEEP over FOOD??)  Eric went to his coworkers’ final softball game of the season, and I opted to stay in and continue sleeping.  I got about 12-13 hours of sleep.  I woke up a few times during the night, but that’s pretty standard for me.  What was weird was that around 1230 or 1am, I heard our screen door open, heard the door unlock and heard Eric walk in and get a drink from the kitchen.  So I got up and said “Hi honey!”  No response.  I walk around the house and he’s NOT THERE.  I heard him, but he wasn’t there.  He actually came home about 1/2 hour later.

So, in the past week, I’ve had 2 episodes of sleepwalking (sorta, I guess?) and an episode of sleep…hearing?

I have no idea if this is a weird Prozac thing.  Brief internet research tells me that sleepwalking is not a common side effect at all.  I have been fighting a cold over the past few weeks, due to the weather being so weird.  Chilly in the mornings, warm in the afternoons, and my office being freakin’ freezing all the time.  So maybe I’m just run-down and this is an effect of that?

I have no idea.

So far it isn’t too bad, I guess.  I haven’t left the house or anything.  But if you see me wandering out and about at some crazy hour in snowflake pj pants, a tank top and leopard print slippers, I guess we know why.  Wake me up and bring me home, okay?

Now I’ve got myself all freaked out and nervous to go to bed again.

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In the arms of sleep

  1. Pingback: If at first you don’t succeed… « I’d rather be elsewhere, most likely

Leave a Reply

