This is tale…

So. It’s been a second since I last blogged.  Here, anyway.  I feel very conflicted, because I don’t think that I’d have any readership at all, if I didn’t post links on FB and twitter.  And I think that it just gets clicked on haphazardly.  Not because anyone is all “OMG, Mer wrote a new post!!!”

Like anyone gives a fuck.  Really.  My life is not that exciting, and I am not that important.

So, Eric and I went to audition for The Voice a few weeks ago.  Sadly, neither of us are The Voice.  However, we both felt very good about how we did.  For myself, I don’t think I could have done better.  I was REALLY happy with my one verse and one chorus that I got to sing (of “Mercy” by Duffy, by the way).  The coolest thing about going to Inglewood, California for 2 days, was…getting out of town for 2 days with my husband.  We seriously did not do anything exciting while in Los Angeles-ish.  We auditioned on our respective audition days/times (Eric – 7am on Tuesday, Me – 2pm on Tuesday), and then went to Target.  A lot.  I think we went 3 times in the 2 days.  We went to Subway, we went to Starbucks, and had a lovely dinner at Red Lobster.  We stayed at a Candlewood Suites hotel, which was delightful.

The kitchen in our suite was nicer than the kitchen in our apartment!

The kitchen in our suite was nicer than the kitchen in our apartment!

Eric chillin' in the Suite of Awesome

Eric chillin' in the Suite of Awesome

I may not have been The Voice, but I looked supercute!!!

I may not have been The Voice, but I looked supercute!!!

Our "The Voice" Rejection Celebration Party at Gilly's

Our "The Voice" Rejection Celebration Party at Gilly's

 

So, all in all, it was a great time.

In other news, I’m on about week 3 or 4 of being on Prozac.  Overall, it’s going very well.  My mood has definitely improved.  I’m happier, and stuff at work doesn’t set me off nearly as much.  The only downside, right now, is that I am exhausted.  And my jaw is really achy from continually clenching.  All information that I’ve looked up says that lethargy and jaw clenching are potential side effects of Prozac, and I remember having these side effects on other meds that I’ve been on in the past.  But MAN, it’s harsh this time around.  I have a follow-up appointment with my psychiatrist on Tuesday, so I’ll address this with her.  It may just be something that eventually goes away, or maybe my dosage needs to be adjusted, or maybe I can take it at night instead in the morning.  It’ll all work out, I’m sure.  It’s just frustrating to actually be feeling so much BETTER, but not have the energy to do anything about it!

Talk therapy is also going very well.  My therapist is super-cool, and very easy for me to talk to.  I’ve already started bringing up a lot of issues with her, and I have had certain things in my life validated.  And other things coming to light.  It’s really going well so far – I feel very positive that this is going to be a very good experience for me.  I’m going to work out my issues, which is going to make me a better person, a better friend and a better wife.

What else…what else?  Oh, a few weeks ago we had the PowerPocalypse.  That was exciting.  I was certainly nervous, but then we enacted the Emergency Preparedness Plan – which of course involved heading to Gilly’s.  And then after they closed, to Apertivo.  Then we went back to the apartment complex, and hung out with the neighbors.  Nothing like a power outage to bring people closer together.  I cooked pasta for everyone!  We drank heavily!  And then the power came back on at 1130 or so, and I knew that the next day, I’d have to go to work…and I’d be ragingly hungover for it.

When in doubt, throw (most of) it out!

When in doubt, throw (most of) it out!

Other than that…it’s pretty much been same ol’, ya know?  I’ve lost another couple of pounds, so that ongoing struggle is going decently for now.  While it’s still nice out and light out for longer, I’m trying to stick to taking walks.  I get so bored at the gym; at least walking around the neighborhood, there’s stuff to look at.

OH.  That reminds me – a few weeks ago, I was walking. I realized about 20 minutes in that I’d forgotten my keys.  I am the OCD chick that checks things a gazillion times before I leave the house, so the fact that I’d locked myself out was both a) devastating (because I do not roll with the punches well) and b) embarrassing.  Eric was working, and wouldn’t be getting off for another 2-3 hours.  So I just…continued to walk.  I ended up doing almost 5 miles in an hour and half.  Eric texted me and said, “Go to Gilly’s.  They’ll let you run a tab until I get there.”  Which, in theory, I knew.  But I was still super-embarassed to be all, “I locked myself out of the house”  and to also be at the bar in my workout gear, a little sweaty, no make-up and hair not done.  Not that Gilly’s is a fancy spot by any means, but seriously…I’d just walked 5 miles.

I then proceeded to drink 3 Bloody Marys, and rendered myself useless for the remainder of the day.

At least it’s another silly story to add to my arsenal.

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

