It’s the final countdown…dodo do do…dodo do do do…

 

And this is where I commence to freak the fuck out.  We’re just a tad over 3 weeks away from the big day, and pretty much everything is set.  Vendors are booked, orders have been made…seriously, we’re good.  But I am intensely panicking.  Maybe for no reason, maybe for a thousand reasons.

I’ve finally started going back to the gym.  I haven’t tried on my dress since it’s been altered back in October.  Apparently I lost some weight over the holidays, but I live in fear that the dress won’t fit.  I live in fear that I will look hideous.  It’s funny, Eric and I were talking about the wedding pictures, because we have to put a list together of what pictures we want taken – in terms of the formal shots.  My answer was: “As long as I don’t look fat, I’m good.”

Which, when I think about it, is kinda fucked up.  But then again, that’s me.

As I’ve mentioned in the past, my biggest critic, I think, is myself.  I honestly don’t give a fuck who is fat or who isn’t…unless it’s me.  Struggling with my weight since I was a kid, it’s inevitable.  And I’m just terrified that I’m going to somehow look absolutely hideous on the most important day of my life.  I don’t want to be that disappointment.  I don’t want people looking at me, the BRIDE, and thinking, “Well, she looks okay…”

I should have tried harder, I should have made more progress.  I’ve lost some weight, but not nearly enough.  There are a thousand meals I should not have eaten, a thousand times I shouldn’t have gone out, but I did.  I shouldn’t have slacked off at the gym.  I should have sacrificed more and done more.   I’m beating myself up over this.

That’s not my only concern, of course.  I’m terrified that my wedding will bomb.  I should know, that with all the people who will be there, and who are helping me out…it’s going to be awesome.  But I’ve been to many weddings over the years, and they’ve been AWESOME.  My wedding is not going to be fancy or frou-frou.  That was never the plan.  It’s supposed to be FUN.  A celebration of life and laughter and friends and LOVE.

But DAMN if I don’t want it to be GOOD, you know?

My mom sent me an email today, saying how proud of me she was during this whole wedding planning thing.  I’ve been mindful of the budget, trying to cut corners where I can, thinking of other people and not just myself…basically not being a Bridezilla.  I’m trying very hard to be easy-breezy, but it’s hard.  I have a vague timeline for the reception.  But I don’t know if I need to, or WANT to, micromanage it to the very minute.  My timeline is more like, “OK, Part A is going to happen from 7-9 and at some point, there will be some cake cutting, and garter throwing and whatnot.”

Is that even OKAY?  Can someone remind me to do these things?  I don’t want the reception to lag, and I sure as hell don’t want people to be bored or waiting around for stuff to happen.  But I seriously have no idea how to orchestrate it all.  Do I even need to?  Can someone please come up to me and say, “Hey Mer, you might want to be cutting some cake right about now.”

No, really, I’m asking seriously if someone can do that for me.  Someone with a good intuition or sense of timing.

Am I freaking out over nothing?  I just want it to be good.  I want it to be an awesome day.  For everyone!

I really can’t wait to be Eric’s wife.  I can’t wait for the honeymoon!

I can’t wait to start our new life together.

Let’s get the show on the road! Let’s do this!

…right…?

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s the final countdown…dodo do do…dodo do do do…

  1. L says:

    You are not going to look hideous, or fat.

    Ramon will tell you when things will happen (and I volunteer to be on CAAAAAAAAAAAKE patrol).

  2. Amber Nadeau says:

    Hey Meredith!
    Make sure the day of your wedding that you let it all go. You do not want to miss one of the most important days of your life worrying about when cake cutting is? When is it is time for garter throwing? etc… Put someone you trust in charge of all that. It is YOUR day and you are not responsible for anything but looking fricken AMAZING which you will because your beauty on the inside reflects on the outside and to me and all those around you, YOU are stunning!

    Breathe in your day, feel all the nerves, excitement, tears of joy, and get lost in the moment. You have worked SO hard; from workin’ on your fitness (which you look might fine!), planning vendors, picking out music, all the tiny details. Enjoy each and every part of you and Eric joining as one and all the hard work you put into your day. If something does not go exactly as planned or expected then just embrace it. Laugh, cheer it on, whatever you have to do. Just do not let anyone or anything get in the way and distract you from being in the moment.

    I am SOOO happy for you and Eric! Cheers to you both!!

    xo Amber ox

  3. Becca says:

    I’m all over it…I told you…give me a list and sit back and enjoy 🙂 I love this crap you know that! Besides I will be the fat one in the pic. Don’t u worry. 🙂

  4. Brandi says:

    Oh, MER! You are so loved! I promise your day will be awesome. And when I get to the reception, I will make damn sure you are having a good time. (and that is ALL that matters)

Leave a Reply

