The Feast! That I helped prepare! Cooking! And stuff!

FINALLY.  USB Cords were found, pictures were downloaded from the camera, and now I can brag about how awesome Christmas was.

My friend Tobeylee and I got this bee in our bonnets that we were going to host Christmas.  Just a little something for friends who don’t have family in the area, or do their Christmas traditions on Christmas Eve…that sort of thing.  Very casual.  The plan was to have us all gather around in our PJs, watch Christmas movies, eat a bunch of yummy snacks, and drink heavily.

Recipes were researched, and dishes were decided upon.

Prepwork literally took DAYS.  And the results?  FANTASTIC.

Of course, we had to have a theme…

All cream cheese, all the time

All cream cheese, all the time

And had to make sure we had the proper supplies:

Coors Light!!!

Coors Light!!!

And a little entertainment/inspiration in the background:

Man v. Food!

Man v. Food!

First up…Stuffed Mushrooms!

That's a lotta 'shrooms, yo.

That's a lotta 'shrooms, yo.

Notice that the picture only shows part of the bag.  My partner-in-crime in this culinary adventure, Ms. Tobeylee, is actually holding the bag, but sadly, making a demonically possessed face in the picture.  I personally would have had no problem posting the pic in full, but I didn’t want to do that without her permission.  Some people are not all about having themselves all over the internet, yo.

Others of us; however, are all about it.

ANYWAY…

Like I said, a lotta 'shrooms.

Like I said, a lotta 'shrooms.

I sat down in front of the TV, and went to work on hollowing out the mushrooms.  It’s not a terribly difficult task, but it is time consuming.  This process took me all the way through Man v Food, and partially into an episode of Paula Deen.

Hard at work!

Hard at work!

Tobeylee chopping veggies.  Believe it or not, I did some chopping as well.

Tobeylee chopping veggies. Believe it or not, I did some chopping as well.

The veggies, of course, went into the stuffing for the mushrooms.  It also went into part of another of our tasty treats…Frosty The Cheeseball.  Along with some of the 400 tons of cream cheese we purchased.

This was taken approximately 2.2 seconds before the mixer shorted out.

This was taken approximately 2.2 seconds before the mixer shorted out.

I wish I was kidding about that.  One minute, I’m minding my business, happily mixing away.  The next, there’s a flash of light and a puff of smoke.  At that point, Tobeylee said, “OK, you should probably stop now.  And unplug the mixer.”  I may have started crying at that point.  Embarrassed and ashamed, I tell ya.  I am not sure if the mixer recovered.  If not, I am fully prepared to purchase a new one.  I promise.

DELICIOUS!

DELICIOUS!

I am either tasting the stuffing or the cheeseball in this picture.  I’m not sure.  But regardless, it was yummy and I was clearly very proud of my handiwork.

As we started assembling the cheeseballs, we realized that Frosty is actually multi-purpose.  This recipe is not only good for the Yuletide, but also for Halloween!!!

Casper the Cheeseball?

Casper the Cheeseball?

TWO CUTE!!!

TWO CUTE!!!

The bottom half of Frosty was actually made with our Veggie Cream Cheese that we’d made.  The veggies (carrots, celery and spices) caused the cream cheese to no longer be Frosty white.  Whatever shall we do???  No fear.  Frosty just ended up wearing a jaunty sweater.  It IS wintertime after all. (Completed Frosty will be featured in a picture later on).

MORE DELICIOUS!

MORE DELICIOUS!

Something I did not make - CHILI - courtesy of Tobeylee's mom

Something I did not make - CHILI - courtesy of Tobeylee's mom

I know that this post is supposed to primarily be all OOOOH, Mer can cook, sorta…and I did not make the chili.  But I need to show it off, because it was FANTASTIC.  And you need to be jealous of the awesome that was our Holiday Feast!

Gratuitous Beverage Shot, featuring my Magic Bullet

Gratuitous Beverage Shot, featuring my Magic Bullet

You best better believe I whipped up some Pink Squirrels for this occasion!

Next up on the list of yummy delights that we prepared…Pickles in a Blanket, aka Pickle Roll-Ups. Basically, it’s mini pickles, cream cheese and salami (or ham).  Now, Tobeylee and I took one look at this recipe and said, OH HELL FUCKING YES.

Now, I can understand how this combination could sound a little odd to some people.  But to us, it was just a combination of all that is right and good in the world.

Then, we find out that this is some sort of CLASSIC recipe that people have prepared for family get-togethers since the beginning of time.  Tobeylee and I were absolutely BOGGLED by this.  We had no idea.  Neither of us had ever heard of it before.  How had we spent 30(ish) years on this earth and NEVER been exposed to a platter of awesome like this??!

The world is cruel and unfair.

PICKLES!!!

PICKLES!!!

Preparing to prepare the awesomeness!

Preparing to prepare the awesomeness!

Odd looking dish, but SO SO GOOD!

Odd looking dish, but SO SO GOOD!

I’m telling you, these bad boys were DEVOURED!

Christmas Day: Completed Frosty the Cheeseball and Spinach Artichoke Dip

Christmas Day: Completed Frosty the Cheeseball and Spinach Artichoke Dip

For about 7 people...we had a LOT of food.

For about 7 people...we had a LOT of food.

Note the Pink Squirrels. YUM! We also had mimosas, and wine and…yeah.  A lot of booze.  But with all the food we chowed down on, none of us got wasted.  Just stuffed and happy and relaxed.  Did I mention we spent the entire day in pajamas?  Yeah, that was the theme/rule of the party.

Warning, the next image may be traumatic to sensitive readers…

Once people started digging into Frosty...well, it was very hard to watch.

Once people started digging into Frosty...well, it was very hard to watch.

*sniffle*

So all in all it was a fantastic day.  Despite the fact that I was coerced into finally watching A Christmas Story in full for the very first time.  I’d seen parts of it, and never had any desire to see it in its entirety.  Eh.  I really didn’t care for it.  I woudn’t watch it again, probably.

I know, I’m weird.

The menu:

  • Mimosas, Pink Squirrels, wine and various other cocktails
  • Pretzels, Cashews and Honey Roasted Peanuts (because, you know, we needed MORE to munch on!)
  • Pickles In A Blanket
  • Spinach Artichoke Dip – served in a bread bowl with various crackers, tortilla chips, and pumpernickel bread
  • Frosty the Cheeseball
  • Stuffed Mushrooms
  • Chili
  • Boxes of chocolates and toffee from See’s.

…I think that’s it…?  Did I miss anything?  I think I covered it all.  It was a lotta, lotta work, but it was so worth it.

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Feast! That I helped prepare! Cooking! And stuff!

  1. Tobeylee says:

    HAHAHA, I think this is my FAVORITE post yet! And that is only partially because it mentioned me 🙂 Oh and THANK YOU for not posting the devil pic!!! SOOOOO Much Fun!!!

Leave a Reply

