Time for toys and time for cheer.

Ah, the end of a long, holiday weekend.

Tomorrow means back to work, and if I’m not mistaken, I think that I’ll be heading to CostCo with my boss to pick up gift baskets to give to clients.  Which granted, gets me out of the office for a while, which is always a good thing.  But trying to control one of those ginormous shopping pallets they have is NO easy task.  Weaving through the aisles with piles and piles of cookie boxes, candy tins and booze gift packs (for the special clients) while trying not to break anything…

Gotta rest up tonight for that!

How was your Thanksgiving?  Mine was good.  We went to a couple’s house that we’re friends with.  There had to have been over 20 people there – some family, some friends.  The food was amazing, and we had such a wonderful time.  Oh, my Pink Squirrels were a huge hit – yeah, I brought the fixins, and our lovely host allowed me to borrow the blender.  I’m not sure how the No-Bake Cookies went over (since by then, I’d had a few Pink Squirrels, other cocktails and champagne).  But I know we brought some back home with us, and Eric ate them (like, 6 of them) in one sitting.  So, again, I win.

I started off Thanksgiving morning watching the Macy’s Parade, and promptly started to BAWL.  I was overwhelmed with this feeling of I MISS MY FAMILY.  I called my parents, sniffling and voice warbling.  Mom immediately thought I was sick, and then was all OH MY GOD WHAT’S WRONG???

…I..miss…you…guys… *sniffle*

During the course of speaking with both Mom and Dad, and then a little bit later with my sister and one of my nephews (the 9 year old is much better on the phone than the 3 year old, don’cha know), I started feeling better.  AND also decided that when I go back to New Jersey in February for my Bridal Shower, I want to do a Thanksgiving Dinner one of the nights I’m in town.  Obviously, no need for an entire turkey, but maybe a roast turkey breast, and then make stuffing and mashed potatoes, green bean casserole – the works.

My entire family thinks this is a BRILLIANT idea.  Thanksgiving in February.  It’s ON!

I even volunteered to help with the cooking.  To which my Mom was all o_O.  I could sense the WTF-ness through the phone.  But then I told her about my recent cooking attempts – the No-Bake cookies included – and she was IMPRESSED.

It’ll be nice to have a little taste of the holidays when I head home in February.  Lack of money being what it is, I don’t get to head back to the Dirty Jerz that often.  Last time I went was in March, to go wedding dress shopping with my Mom and sister.  The last time before that…I honestly don’t remember.  I’ve averaged maybe once a year since moving out here in 2006.  It’s just hard.

Tickets are expensive, and I fear flying so, so much.  I’m afraid of technical failure and crashes, and (as paranoid as this may seem to some people *ahem*) terrorist attacks.  Sorry, but being a Jersey girl with friends and family in the area during 9/11…that’s bound to happen, and those scars don’t heal easily.  Save me your hypotheses and conspiracy theories…I honestly don’t give a fuck.

So, I started this post a few days ago…and now I’m continuing it.  Those who know me, will recognize the line of demarcation between regular MeredithElaine post and weird-ass-MeredithElaine post.

I’m feeling the burn of the holidays.  I’m being lazy, I’m not working out, and I’m enjoying the festivities.  But yet, I’m not.  DrunkenMeredithElaine does not give  a fuck about calories and fat – she’d rather just be with loved ones and enjoy.  RationalMeredithElaine wants to give DrunkenMeredithElaine a huge ass beating right now.  How DARE I eat and drink and be Merry (Meri? haha!) when I am 4 months away from the day that will be recorded for all eternity?

I am a woman of contradictions.  Love me or leave me.  Deal with it and move on.  If nothing else, I will be me and as real as I can be here. Flaws, dysfunctions and all.  Should you care to read and give a fuck, YAY!  I’m the girl who is smiles and easy-breezy by day, and paranoia by night.  If you know me well enough, you know this.  If you don’t know, now you know.

I was not put on this earth to be smart.

That being said, I’ve got thoughts…deeper than most of you know.  But I wasn’t put here for that.  I was put here to be a peacemaker, a piece of humor in your day.  But know this – if you call out the “other side” for being totally unhinged, for being “wrong” – if you call others out for their ragey-ragetasticness with that SAME AMOUNT of fire and venom…are YOU really that different?  THINK about that for a second.  And of course you will say….NO, because I’M RIGHT.

I SAY:  Think a little bit harder on that.  Fighting fire with fire only makes the fire bigger.

And with that…I have gone on another tangent.  Time to go.

MeredithElaine – OUT.

 

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

