The Cocktail Hour of Awesome!

I’ve realized that I haven’t posted much about The Wedding lately.  Mainly because there isn’t much to report.  We’ve got the main things booked already (venue, caterer, photographer, entertainment squad), so now I kinda feel like it’s sit and wait until about 3 months out, when chaos ensues.  Seating charts, flowers and lighting concepts, OH MY!

If I’m screwing up my timeline, please someone warn me!

But I’ve been thinking about the COCKTAIL HOUR!  Granted, I guess I’m supposed to be taking pictures during that time (you best better believe there’s going to be a separate plate of Bacon Wrapped Scallops JUST FOR ME.  In fact, the pictures will be of me and the Scallops.  Weirdo that I am).   But the Hour De Cocktails should still be awesome, right?  I think music is VERY important for this.

I want my Cocktail Hour to sound like Lite FM, circa 1982.  When there were a plethora of jazzy, smooth instrumental songs that are SO PERFECT for a Cocktail hour.  At least in my head.

Like…

I think this song has been played at every Cocktail hour EVER.  I’m pretty sure than when my various cousins got married in the early-to-mid 80s, this was the JAM.

And then there’s…

I think this may also qualify as Dentist Office Music.  Although, truth be told, I haven’t been to the dentist in an embarrasingly long time.

Check out around 3:10…recognize that section?   Awwww yeahhh.  That reminds me, I think Eric actually has a CD of classic Jazz tunes that have been sampled in hip-hop.  Maybe some of THOSE tracks can be utilized in the Cocktail Hour of Awesome!

Anyway, I’ve got a couple of instrumental tracks listed…I really do prefer those, but there are some tracks with vocals that are also SO SUPREMELY PERFECT for the Cocktail Hour of Awesome!

Such as…

This song just makes me smile.  And sway back and forth a little bit.  Although, that might be the aftermath of a workout and some painkillers.

This one’s a bit odd…but it’s got such a rad groove to it.  I just want to DANCE!

So…I KNOW I must have at least one or 2 people in my teeeeeny (but AWESOME) readership, that can give me some suggestions for additional songs along these lines.  So bring ’em on!  Do your part to contribute to the Cocktail Hour of Awesome!

Cheers!

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Cocktail Hour of Awesome!

  1. How about this classic?

    You know I love it!!! And I love you!!!

  2. Wifey says:

    Oh wait! I just couldn’t view it on my iphone. YES. A thousand times YES. This goes on the list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

