People are gonna do…

During my first job out of college…well, the first one that I STAYED with for any lengthy period of time, anyway, my supervisor at the time said something to me that has stuck with me all these years:

“…people are gonna do whatever the hell they’re gonna do…”

At the time I worked at a hotel, in Reservations.  I think that statement, at the time, was in the context of some bride-to-be’s mother who was getting all uppity.  They had reserved a block of 10 rooms for out of town guests for the wedding, and now they wanted 50 more rooms.  2 days before the wedding.  Which was also on Memorial Day weekend.  Something ridiculous along those lines.  Where they want to disregard all the “rules” and do what they want, because they feel they deserve it and aren’t putting anyone out by it.

The quote has been echoing in my head as of late.  In various contexts.  Most frequently in terms of work.  I don’t ask much of the staff.  I go through all the paperwork with them, and explain, IN THE SIMPLEST TERMS POSSIBLE, how to fill out a timecard.  Time in, time out to lunch, time back from lunch, time out at the end of the day.  I STRONGLY suggest that the times be rounded to the nearest quarter hour (the example I give:  If you come in at 8:03 am, just round it to 8 am).  Because honestly, if you put in that you came in at 7:46, went to lunch at 1:13, came back at 1: 39, and left for the day at 5:22, I’m going to round that shit off anyway.  That’s our procedure. I do it, and our payroll manager does it as well.

I would just like to be able to do it LESS OFTEN than I do.  More and more peeps are putting in their fucked up time schedules and it gives ME more to do, and it makes me cranky.

WHY MUST THESE PEOPLE DEFY MY WISHES!?!?!?

(Breathe, Mer.)

But this idea of  “people are gonna do whatever they hell they’re gonna do” can also apply in non-professional life as well.  In the wonderful world of friendships and advice-giving.  My old friend from college used to get LIVID when the advice she gave out was not adhered to. And is see this happening to a certain degree lately with people I know.  People have problems, get into situations, and ask for advice.  But at the end of the day, “people are gonna do whatever the hell they’re gonna do.” Good or bad.  People want advice, feedback, what-have-you, but at the end of the day, the decision is theirs.

And though it may frustrate the hell out of us who have dished out the advice, it is what it is.  We can only stand there and watch what goes down.  We can only cheer when victory is attained, or help pick up the pieces when it all falls apart.

So, keep on doin’ what you’re gonna do.  You’re going to anyway, so we might as well encourage accept it.

Unless you’re turning in timecards to me.  Then…REALLY?  Learn how to do it right.

It’s also my fiance’s birthday today.  You should wish him a happy one.

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

