What do you do?

I’ve spent a lot of time lately thinking about hobbies.  And I’m realizing that I really don’t have any.  For example:  today, Eric had to open the restaurant, so I’m pretty much on my own today until about 6 or 7pm.

Here’s a rundown of my day so far – I ate the leftovers of my burrito from the night before, I went back to sleep for a while, I woke up, called my mom, called my sister, went online for a bit, cleaned the house a little, worked out, took a shower, went to the drug store to pick up a prescription, then came home and had some lunch.

Wheee…?

Some could say, oh, well, working out is a hobby.  I think I even have it listed as one of my hobbies on my Facebook profile.  But really?  No. Working out is torture and not fun.  I like being sedentary.  Moving around and sweating getting achy is not really what I consider a good time.  But I do it, because I’m a lardass that needs to lose some major poundage.

Hobbies are supposed to be enjoyable, right?  Yeah, I don’t have any of those.

I haven’t written anything (poetry or songs) in a very long time, because I write from pain.  I haven’t been nearly as pained or angsty as I used to be.  That fueled my creativity, but my creativity tank is currently on empty.

Other than that…I’m not artistic, I’m not crafty…so I really don’t know what else I could do that’d be fun.  Some people do scrapbooking, some people crochet, some people collect things.  I just don’t know if I have any interest in those sorts of things.  Plus, I’d need supplies, and that shit is expensive.

So for now, I’m stuck watching bad reality TV shows. And good ones.  But mostly bad.  And shit on the Food Network and Travel Channel.  It’d be cool if I could do something WHILE watching those shows, so I’m not just mindlessly sitting there.  But I have no idea what I’d do.

Any suggestions? Ideally it’d be something cheap and something that would be tolerable by my ADDed out little brain.

On a related note, I’ve been wondering how you have to be before you need to consider quitting karaoke.  I suppose that’s a hobby of mine.  But, that usually involves going out to a bar, drinking, etc.  Which is cool, but I’d like something I can do at home.  A quiet activity.  But back to the question – how old is too old for karaoke?  As much as I love singing and get lots of compliments, etc., I just worry that someday I’ll be that chick who walks into the bar, and all the patrons roll their eyes.  Oh god, there’s that old broad trying to sing…

I’d like to think I’ll still be kicking ass and singing with my friends when I’m 50 or 60.  *shrug*

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What do you do?

  1. gerilyn says:

    if you love it, you’re not too old. enjoy!

  2. rhi says:

    i bet you listened to music in between things today?! totally counts.

Leave a Reply

