Rarely do things piss me off THIS much…

As most of you know, I am probably the LEAST confrontational person in the world.  I am also not the most worldly or political.  I’m not about to get into a debate about this issue or that, because I don’t feel like I have a clue enough to back my thoughts/beliefs up.

I like to keep things light ‘n fluffy.  Kinda like my Egg White Flatbread Breakfast Sandwich from Subway this morning.  Which was tasty, by the way.  And cheap.  Big, healthy-ish sandwich and a large coffee for $4.50.

But that’s besides the point.

Normally I wouldn’t even bring something like this up, but it has pissed me off enough that I need to just get it off my chest.

I have friends who are all over the spectrum in terms of their political beliefs.  It is what it is.  I really don’t care one way or another.  That’s not why I’m actually friends with people, ya know.  I’m friends with people because they’re nice and kind and funny and we have stuff in common (fun stuff, not hot-button-y issue type stuff).

So as far as I’m concerned, you can love the President, be indifferent towards him, hate him, whatever.  But THIS???  Is classless and tacky.

In case you didn’t feel so inclined to click the link, it’s a Facebook group/fan page:

DEAR LORD, THIS YEAR YOU TOOK MY FAVORITE ACTOR, PATRICK SWAYZIE. YOU TOOK MY FAVORITE ACTRESS, FARAH FAWCETT. YOU TOOK MY FAVORITE SINGER, MICHAEL JACKSON. I JUST WANTED TO LET YOU KNOW, MY FAVORITE PRESIDENT IS BARACK OBAMA. AMEN

That’s right.  In a cheeky, jokey, lighthearted, “teehee” sort of way, this group is wishing the President DEAD.  In the form of a PRAYER.

Normally, I think that I have a pretty decent sense of humor, and it usually takes a lot to offend me.  But WOW.  Something about this just rubbed me the wrong way.

Look, if you’re not happy about our nation’s situation, then do something about it.  Become an activist, vote, volunteer, whatever.  And I know there are a ton of anti-Obama groups on Facebook.  If you’re bummed that he’s in office, then hey, that’s your right to feel that way.  And it’s your right to vote in a couple of years to try to change that.

But a group that wishes him DEAD, even in jest…is just poor form, all around.

A quick Google search showed me that this “prayer” has been used for other politicians recently, including Chris Christie.

I don’t know why this bothers me so much, like I said, I’m not terribly political.  I’m not religious either.  In theory, I should be pretty “whatever” about this.

But there’s such a thing as having some fucking decorum in how you express your disappointment/disagreement.

Of course, it doesn’t help that whoever created this Facebook group spelled both Swayze and Farrah wrong.  And that all the celebs mentioned actually died last year, not “this year”.

In summation:  tacky, misspellings and inaccuracies.  Just bad all around.

Have a nice day.

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rarely do things piss me off THIS much…

  1. writerwriting says:

    I agree. I didn’t like our previous president but I never once wished him dead or ill. I just wished for the elections to come faster lol

    And yes, Jesus and Jesus-related things get used a lot by people to justify what they’re doing/asking. Praying to God to strike someone down is about as anti-Christian as you can get. I mean, when my BFF’s BFF was killed, our pastor told us it was God’s blessing because now she couldn’t lead more people astray. Seriously. He said that. Why do people SAY that?

    I feel I’m veering off course. Sorry. 🙂

  2. Glenna says:

    Of course I love this post. It really ticked me off, too. Ultimately, enough to use the top weapon in my arsenal…the defriend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

