Tales from the Bar #3

It seems like all of these stories start out, “So I was at karaoke night…”

Which I was.

I was heading over to the bar to get a beer, and my purse (the ginormous sack of life that I usually carry) happened to bump into a guy sitting next to where I was standing.

So I apologized, of course, because I’m polite like that.

And he said, “No, no, that’s okay, because now I get to meet you.”

Some awkward small talk followed, along with a VERY lingering handshake.  He held my hand awkwardly, and was almost fingering my engagement ring.  Which of course made me a bit nervous.

Then the guy said, “I have your signature now.”

“Huh?” I replied.

He squeezed my hand.  “I have your signature now.  I’ve got your DNA.”

What?  At that point I was a little confused and creeped out, so I made my escape back to the other side of the bar.

I later saw him outside talking to some people who didn’t seem to understand quite what he was saying either.  Then he stumbled off towards another bar across the street.

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tales from the Bar #3

  1. writerwriting says:

    That DNA thing would be kind of geek cute…IF HE WASN’T A COMPLETE EFFING STRANGER. lol

  2. It was definitely weird. Especially for a guy who didn’t look particularly sketchy. He was in a business suit and looked well put-together. Maybe he had a rough day at work and had been at the bar since 5pm ON THE DOT.

    And the whole touching of my ring thing creeped me out as well. I was almost afraid he was going to try and yank it off my hand. Which…no. Ain’t happening. MY RING. MINE. LOL.

    *runs off singing if you like it then you shoulda putta ring on it*

Leave a Reply

