How MeredithElaine became the happiest girl in the world.

Most people at this point know the story, but I feel like sharing it again, because dammit, I’m a bride-to-be and it is all about ME.  *beams*

Eric popped the question on the 26th of December, with a beautiful ring that is not my ring.  Well, it was my ring. A “training ring”?  A placeholder?  Basically, the ring/setting that Eric wanted only usually takes stones smaller than the one he picked out for me, so that ring had to be all fixed up and stuff.  It took a couple weeks.   At first, I had a gorgeous stone on a simple white gold band.  It was a tiny bit too small (the ring, not the stone, GEEZ), but it fit enough so I could wear it and show it off and look all engaged and shit.  Which of course is the point, because when you tell people you’re engaged, there are a few things that are guaranteed to happen:

1. Squealing, hugs and “CONGRATULATIONS!!!”

2. “How did he propose?”

3. “LEMME SEE THE RING!”

So…here’s the ring:

The Ring...version 1

The Ring...version 2

Not too shabby, eh?  I was completely in love with the first ring.  I don’t wear a lot of jewelry, so the fact that it was simple was AWESOME for me. Then I got the 2nd one and OH MY GOD.  This is some Real Housewives lookin’ stuff over here.   It’s gorgeous and unique and sparkles!  The main diamond is surrounded by little diamonds embedded in the band, on the top of the ring and on the sides.  There’s also a “surprise diamond” underneath the main stone.  It’s kinda hard to explain, but trust me…it’s GORGEOUS.  I’ve never seen anything like it in my life.

OK, enough gushing about the ring.

This is how it all went down.  It happened while we were on vacation in Seattle for the holidays.  December 26th, day after Christmas.  We went out to a fabulous dinner at La Dolce Vita.  Afterwards, we decide to hit up a local spot, Hula Hula, that we had been to a few nights before.  They have karaoke 7 nights a week, and are a really great bunch over there.  So…since Eric and I are total karaoke-obsessed freaks, we headed over there.  It was a Saturday night and the spot was hoppin’.  The bartender from the other night was there, recognized us and bought us our first round.  So we’re chillin’ and having a great time.  We had each sung one song each, and then I was called up again.  I sang “Killing Me Softly” by the Fugees.

So, I’m singing, rockin’ out (as I do), and I notice Eric walking up closer in the crowd taking pictures.  Nothing out of the ordinary, after all, we’re on vacation.

Until I finish the song, and I look over and Eric is on one knee, ring box in hand, and mouths “Will You Marry Me?”

At which point I said “Oh My God” about 400 hundred times, and asked him repeatedly if he was serious.  Then I said, “OH! By the way…YES!”

A match made in karaoke heaven.

It was absolutely perfect.  I couldn’t have asked for a more perfect proposal.

And then I spent about the next 12 hours puking.

You see, we split a bottle of wine at dinner.  Then, as I mentioned, we got our first drink on the house at Hula.  I had a Tanquerey and Tonic (I KNOW.  I strayed from my beloved Coors Light!  But I was all done up, in a dress and heels, so I felt like I should keep it classy).  After the proposal, the owner of the bar said, “Wow, that’s never happened here before,”  and gave us each a free glass of champagne.

So at that point I’ve had about a 1/2 bottle of wine, 1.5  glasses of Tanq & Tonic, plus champagne.  Mixing drinks is a BAD, BAD idea.  I got violently ill all night, and barely left the bed the next day.  I felt so bad…like, Happy Engagement, Honey!

Fortunately, I am the world’s luckiest girl and have the best fiancé EVER.  He took care of me, and on top of that, he wasn’t mad at me.

We’re planning on getting married on April Fool’s Day next year.  No joke.

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How MeredithElaine became the happiest girl in the world.

  1. Erica says:

    YAY! I was waiting for this story. Very cute. Congrats!

  2. 1. The rings are both GORGEOUS.
    2. PERFECT. ENGAGEMENT. It was so perfect for the two of you. AAAHHH I’m so happy for you 🙂 Do you know yet where (state) you’re getting married yet?

    🙂 🙂 🙂

  3. plume says:

    You’re engaged! I can’t believe it! Wait, that sounds wrong. I can’t believe you’re not engaged to more guys! Wait, that sounds bad too.
    Seriously, that’s awesome. Congratulations. I hope you will be very happy.

  4. Pingback: I am a CHAMP, Part 2. And in some cases, a chump. « I’d rather be elsewhere, most likely

Leave a Reply

