It’s gonna be a Happy New Year!

It’s been an exciting holiday season, that’s for sure.  And I’ll eventually get around to posting lots of things – pictures and stories and whatnot.  For a brief overview of some of the things we saw and did, you can check out my list of Seattle reviews on Yelp.

Probably the biggest news is…I’M ENGAGED!!!   Yep, the boyfriend extraordinaire popped the question and is now the fiance extraordinaire.   Eventually I’ll write a post all about that.  Suffice it to say it was so perfect, and the icing on the cake of an awesome vacation.  I’m really still in awe about the whole thing.

Now we’re back home.  Eric will be working his ass off for the forseeable future, since he was able to get a week off for our vacation.  So I wasn’t able to ring in the new year with him.  He had to close at the restaurant, so I did my usual partying at the bar with friends.

So now it’s January 1st and I’m thinking about the new year and what’s to come.  Eric and I haven’t even started to think about planning the wedding.  When, where…any of that stuff.  But it’s in the back of my mind.  The future.  My new life to come.

I’ve been very productive for the morning after New Year’s.  I could be sleeping off a wicked hangover, but I’ve already gone through a ton of paperwork, organized a filing system, and gotten stuff together to be shredded.  I’ve also cleaned and reorganized the kitchen.  So I’m feeling very good about that.

Of course, the ever popular resolution is to lose weight…as it is every year.  I’m happy about the fact that I’ve started working out regularly with the WiiFit – that’s a good start.  But the pounds haven’t dropped like I wanted them too.  Maybe I’m gaining muscle, maybe it’s redistributing, but still…it’s a numbers game for me, and always will be.

I’m also frustrated because we did a TON of walking in Seattle, and I still ended up winded a lot.  That’s extremely upsetting.  Between that and the knee/joint problems I’ve had on and off over the past year – it’s clear to me that the extra weight on my body is not doing me any favors.  I’ve hated my appearance for a long time now; the fact that I’m also feeling like crap is just more motivation.

Having a marathon of The Biggest Loser on TV in the background helps.

Now I have the extra incentive of the eventual wedding.  I want to be thin(ner) and beautiful on my wedding day.  I want shopping for dresses to be fun, not torturous.  I want to start the rest of my life at my very best.  I want to feel great and look great.  Since we don’t have a date set, I figure I might as well start now, so that I’m not trying to attain some insurmountable feat in a crazy-short amount of time.

Yesterday, I picked up some Special K cereal, some Lactaid skim milk and a bunch of Lean Cuisine meals…just to get me started through the next few days.  Today I’ve had one of my Lean Cuisines and some mushrooms in soy sauce.  I feel good and positive.  I want to ride this wave while I’m truly feeling it.

One of the other things I need to do in the new year is go see a doctor about my stomach.  I was on medicine years ago for acid reflux, but I don’t know if this is the same thing.  I never know what’s going to set my stomach off.  Either I end up in severe, stabbing pain, or I have horrible gas pressure, or….you get the idea.  It has put such a cramp (HA! Cramp, like, stomach cramp? Get it?) in my style.  I have to plan my life around it.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had to come home early from the bar or a party or some other event because I am in so much pain.  It’s time to get down to the bottom of this.  Maybe I’ll just have to take some medication.  Maybe I’ll have to adjust my diet due to some food allergy or condition.  We shall see.

I hate how I look and I hate how I feel.  I need to change that in order to be a healthier, happier me.

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s gonna be a Happy New Year!

  1. Erica says:

    Congratulations!!!!!

    I can’t wait to hear all about it.

    This may seem kind of out left-field and its absolutely nothing I am interested in blogging about (non-anonymously) but would you be interested in being health/weight loss buddies? I have no idea how that would work, but … email me if you are interested!

  2. humanresourcespufnstuf says:

    I’m just starting to catch up on blogs, so I’m sorry this is belated, but congratulations on your engagement! May you both have many happy and wonderful years together!

Leave a Reply

