Who eats figgy pudding anyway?

BLEH.

The past week or 2 has been a blur of cards (388 for clients, 130 for our temps) and client gifts (about 80 or so).  The tedium of labels, stamps and bows…it can take the joy of the season right out of you.

Also, a short film was, uh…filmed in our apartment.  Eric wrote a short that one of his actor friends and some of his associates wanted to film to submit to a festival up in LA.  So I’m happy for him and the crew for that.  What I’m not happy about is how I got home from work and my home was complete redecorated.  Also, props and equipment were strewn everywhere.  Some of it still has yet to be picked up from the house…and this is a week later.  My home is not a storage space, dammit.

The end of this week was marked by a slew of parties and whatnot.  Thursday night, a friend of mine and I went to a bar (The 710 Club) for Rock Out Karaoke – basically karaoke with a live band.  Holy crap, that was a high like I’d never experienced in my life.  I’ve never sung with a live band, so I was pretty much a kid in a candy store.  Luckily, it ended early enough that we were able to head back to Gilly’s for the rest of the evening.  Because as much fun as it was…the 710 Club is in Pacific Beach.  Which, I try to avoid like the plague.  My take on PB is that it’s sort of the Jersey Shore of San Diego.  Lots of dudebros and what-not.  But I liked the 710 Club.  It was very chill and the staff was really nice.  It’s not in the heart of PB, so it’s away from a lot of the rowdier bars and clubs, full of vapid girls and guys jacked up on steroids.

Saturday night was my company’s holiday party.  A good time was had by all – we had it at a steakhouse.  The food was delish and the service was awesome.  In our White Elephant gift exchange, I won’t a $200 gift card to Nordstrom. Granted, it’s where the skinny rich folk shop, so I probably be dropping most of the cash at the makeup counters.  Although, I think after a few Tanqueray and tonics, I promised Eric a pair of pants.   Eric got a Dirt Devil vacuum and a manscaping kit.   Among some of the other gifts in the exchange:  a Tiger Woods action figure (and the box was covered in condoms), a bottle of champagne and edible undies, and XBox and a Bose Docking station for ipods/iphones.  Just to give you an idea of my company’s sense of humor, and their gift-giving skills.

Tonight is Eric’s company party.  Another night of drinking and shenanigans.  On a Sunday.  Since Eric’s in the restaurant industry…most of the them have the option of sleeping in tomorrow.  Not I.  I need to be in the office bright and early to collect timecards and wrap things up before my vacation.  Then I have to come home and do laundry and pack.

Then we leave bright and early for Seattle.  A week of just hanging out, sightseeing, and NOT WORKING.   I get a full week of quality time.  I want to eat, drink and be merry.  Spa days and karaoke nights.  Museums and tours.  Shopping in boutiques and writing in cafes.   We might even have some snow during our trip.

Just one more day…

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Who eats figgy pudding anyway?

  1. Erica says:

    I came hoping for a detailed review of figgy pudding. I am horribly disappointed. Bah humbug.

  2. meredithelaine says:

    Awww. I’m sorry.

  3. I’m so jealous of your Seattle trip!! I can’t wait to see all the pictures you’re going to take for me 😉

Leave a Reply

