Time for toys and time for cheer

Pardon me, but I have been watching mini-documentaries on TLC about Christmas traditions and lights and whatnot.  I also may or may not have a Pink Squirrel or 2 in my system.

Did you know that 2 Barbie dolls are sold in the world EVERY SECOND?  I was never a fan of Barbie.  Never had any desire to play with them.  We had boxes of them, hand-me-downs from my sister, who is 10 years older than me.  I just couldn’t be bothered.  I was always more of a fan of stuffed animals, or plushies, whatever you call them.

I had a parrot puppet and a little parrot plush, named Poco and Poquito, respectively.  I had about 3 or 4 Garfields. Strawberry Shortcake.  You get the deal.

One year, I got not ONE, but TWO Q-Bert plushies. The nose squeaked if you squeezed it.  I danced around the house listening to the “Mirage” cassette by Fleetwood Mac that I also got for Christmas that year, squeezing Q-Bert’s nose.

I never claimed to be a normal kid.

The search for the Q-Bert picture brought me these results:  Does anyone remember these?  Holy crap, I was SO jealous of anyone who had those games.

Some girls wanted Barbie and a head to put make up on with hair to butcher style.  I just wanted to play Frogger and pretend that my Garfield toy was real. I wanted to be Mighty Mouse and save the day.  I wanted to live in a world filled where Smurfs and My Little Ponies hung out and listened to Duran Duran and Men At Work.

It’s kinda nice to just sink back into that mindset for a while.  Just reminisce about childhood and simpler times and whatnot.

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Time for toys and time for cheer

  1. humanresourcespufnstuf says:

    What about the Monchi-chi’s? My wife and I love a store in Cleveland called Big Fun, because they have all those great toys from when we were kids. Your right it is nice to sometimes just think back!

  2. Allison says:

    I was into Herself the Elf, Hollie Hobby ovens, and that pink Poochi dog. I liked Frogger too, but Pitfall was the game that really rocked my world.

    • meredithelaine says:

      I was jealous of every one of my friends that had Pitfall. I remember one of my friend’s mom’s asking me, “Don’t you want to play Barbies or something?” as if she thought it was weird that I always wanted to play Atari or Collecovision or whatever my friend had. 🙂

Leave a Reply

