The dreams I have, freak me out sometimes

Two nights ago, I had a dream that shook me up.

I had a child.  A baby.  I didn’t give birth in the dream, but I all of a sudden just had a baby.  The odd thing about the child was that it was starfish shaped.  Like Patrick the Starfish from Spongebob Squarepants.

Picture of my baby courtesy of nick.com

Picture of "my baby" courtesy of nick.com

But the nameless, faceless significant other that I was with in the dream (hence, not Eric) and his family were EVIL.  They would never let me see the baby, or take care of it.  I just remember flashes of being a prisoner in the house.  In a room, but not the same room as my child.  I had no idea how my baby was doing.  They kept me from being a mother to my child.

Apparently the child got very sick from the neglect.  I don’t know how much time passed in the dream, but all of a sudden the Evil Significant Other and his family was all “Your baby is SICK! Oh my god!!”  Completely ignoring the fact that THEY had kept me away from the child, and THEY had neglected and abused the child.  I have no idea what they did, but they clearly did SOMETHING.

They finally let me see the baby, and my little starfish child was covered in bumps…blisters, I guess.  And all I did was lightly touch the baby, and he DEFLATED.  Like a starfish-shaped beach ball, I guess.  Gusts of air and water flew everywhere and then my baby was gone.

I was devestated.  How could those people neglect and abuse my child to the point where he was beyond help?  I screamed and I cried.  My child may have been a starfish-mutant-alien baby, but that was MY starfish-mutant-alien baby.  I would have taken care of him.  I would have made sure that my baby was healthy and happy.  But I never got the chance.

His name was Jeffrey.  And I loved him.

I woke up in tears.

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The dreams I have, freak me out sometimes

  1. Pingback: Sweet dreams of rhythm and dancing « I’d rather be elsewhere, most likely

Leave a Reply

