Down with the sickness

As seems to be the case with much of San Diego (seriously, a sizable chunk of my Facebook friends), I am sick.  Not strongly, violently sick, but enough of a closure in my throat, sniffle in my nose and pound in my head to be annoying.  Especially in a house that’s super-hot. 

To all my friends who be illin’ – please get well soon!

Last night, I broke down a bit.  I finally had that cry that I hadn’t had yet, since Eric’s been gone.  Eric has been posting notes on Facebook, little blog posts if you will, chronicling his time in Dallas.  I’ve been a fan of Eric’s writing since the beginning; that probably comes as no surprise.  He’s extremely deep and introspective.  However, he (like myself) also has moments of being somewhat cryptic.  He’s also about 4 million times smarter than I am.  So many times, I’m in awe of his writing — but I also have no idea what the fuck he is talking about.

Such was the case last night.  Of course, part of it was my mistake for checking in on Facebook after I’d randomly woken up in the middle of the night.  Grogginess + Eric Blog Post = Disaster.   Last night I basically thought his ramblings were a vaguely veiled way of trying to break up with me.  Or that he was leaning towards that.

I had a great hour-long conversation with him just a few hours previous, so I was half-asleep, baffled, and lost it.  A few text messages and a quick phone conversation later, it was all straightened out, of course.

Eric and I talk to each other like normal human beings.  Communication is not an issue in our relationship, for the most part.  But when we get into our fucking artist mode…it doesn’t cause problems, really.  More like confusion.  Mostly on my part. 

Regardless, I think it was good for me to get the cry out.  Even though I’ve been somewhat mopey since Eric left, I’ve carried on well.  Going through my day-to-day routine.  Work, chores, eat, sleep, karaoke, etc.  Life as usual.  I knew the break was going to come eventually. 

1 week down; 3 to go.

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Down with the sickness

  1. Erica says:

    I know how you feel. Frank goes away for a month or two (or three) over the summers, and sometimes there is no contact for a few weeks. Or missed connection contact – emails, voicemails. It’s all so silly and it seems like every conversation is a Conversation. You’ll get through it. Coming home is that much sweeter.

Leave a Reply

