To whom it may concern, because honestly, I don’t even remember your name

OK asshole.  I am woman enough to admit that your comment stung.  Yeah, it was a blow to my (lame excuse for an) ego and (fragile) self-esteem.  However, do not front because, Mr. Random, you are NOT all that and a bag of chips.  You made a douchy comment, and then tried to cover it up with some half-assed compliment. 

“You’re a doll.”

EXCUSE ME?  Please do not insult me, and then try to cover it up by stating the obvious.  I am a doll.  I am one of the nicest people you will come across.  I am friendly, fun and fabulous.  And you have NO fucking idea how many guys make, um, slightly more positive comments about me than you did.  Who hit on me.  Who tell me, “Well, if it wasn’t for your man…”

Which, yes. I have one.  Very happily taken for FOUR YEARS, asshole.  However, if I was NOT taken, trust me.  TRUST ME.  You are HARDLY the calibur of man who I would go for.  Not even a second glance.  Sorry to say.

Not just because you’re, eh…not that attractive.  But because you’re not even NICE.  True, stupid things slip out people’s mouths when their drunk, but REALLY.  To insult PLUS add in a weird-ass “stereotype” (Which isn’t even a stereotype, really.  Except maybe in your own mind.) is just lame and, well, douchy.

I don’t claim to be perfect, by any means.  But I AM an attractive woman.  I am a NICE woman.  I am a STRONG woman.  And, fuck, I can sing circles around you or any of your friends.  So add talented to the list of my fabulous qualities.

These are the risks you take going out to the bar.  Normally, I let shit like stupid comments of yours slide off my back.  But you caught me on an off night, what can I say?

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To whom it may concern, because honestly, I don’t even remember your name

  1. Pingback: Tales from the Bar (this could be a series) « I’d rather be elsewhere, most likely

Leave a Reply

