Keep your nose to the grindstone.

This morning, I had to Tap The Mac , and there was someone else’s receipt sticking out.  They had withdrawn $120.  The balance left in their account was around $23,000.  My eyes bugged out of my head and I promptly wanted to cry.  I wish I lived in that world.  Instead, I am about that much IN DEBT, because I am a dumbass.  (Please don’t tell my dad, by the way.  He’d disown me if he knew.)

Seeing this receipt made me think, well, damn, I guess some people are not struggling in this economy. Sure, all things are relative, and who am I to judge?  But honestly, if you have enough money in your account to pay cash for a brand new car –  in my opinion, you are not struggling in this economy.
 
Which made me think about the so-called employment/job “experts” and “advice givers” out there that piss me off to no end.  I was completely prepared to just throw links and links out there but then I realized that I didn’t want to give these people more blog traffic than they already get.  By “these people” I really mean one in particular, but really, there are others out there similar to the one in particular who brings out an anger in me so fierce…

*sigh*  Deep cleansing breaths, MeredithElaine.

Here’s a search I did.   There are some “experts” out there who say that job-hopping is a good thing:  Try it!  You’ll like it!

I think these people are bat-shit crazy.  And, it seems, I think, in the minority.  Most of the results that I saw are articles such as “How To Address the Job-Hopping Issue During An Interview/On Your Resume”. 

Plus, I can’t tell you how many candidates I’ve seen be passed up because the client was concerned about the number of jobs the candidate has had in X-number of years.  And I’m not just talking about entry-level candidates.  I’m talking seasoned vets in their particular field.  Each job that we post right now gets HUNDREDS of responses.  Layoffs are happening all the time.  Competition is fierce, and there are no guarantees, no matter how good you are at what you do.

So, to be so blaze’, and say that it’s perfectly fine to just bail when you feel like it…I think it’s pretty much crazy talk.  For most people.  The people who dole out this advice are, well, different.  They know what they know.  They are entrepreneur-types, who convince investors to throw cash in their pocket to help them keep up their lifestyle.  They have some crazy scheme…no, wait…I mean innovative idea that they are convinced everyone will jump on.  Or they are people who already have a hefty chunk of change in their savings account, and can afford to be flighty.

Whatever the case may be, they are the EXECPTION, not the rule.  And the fact that tons of people are out there drinking the Kool-Aid they are serving makes me nervous.  Makes me want to shake them and say WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU THINKING?

I honestly think that if you are an Average Joe in the business world, their
advice is not for you.  Right now, I’m being cautious, and I know a lot of people who are as well.  Minding their Ps and Qs, showing up to work on time, playing the “game”.   Yes, it can be soul-sucking, but it’s WORK, people.  Not everyone gets to live their woo-hoo, artsy-fartsy dream of doing what they love as a career.  If it was fun, it wouldn’t be called work. 

Most people I know are just trying to get by.  Paying bills, keeping a roof over one’s head, and food in the fridge.  I know people who have searched for months and can’t even get a job because they are “overqualified” for McDonalds.  So, in their early-to-mid-30s, they are moving back across the country and back in with their parents.  Cars are being repossessed and phones are being shut off.  People are selling drugs (prescription and street) to feed their kids.  Scientists with PhDs are applying for $13/hour jobs cleaning poop out of animal cages. 

This is not the time to take risks.  This is the time to play it safe.  Do your job, do it well, and pray that you don’t get laid off, like so many people already have. 

It’s called priorities, people.

If you have the means to think out side the box and can handle the risks and potential failures that come along with it, by all means, go ahead.  But if you are living paycheck to paycheck, if you are unsure how rent is going to get paid, then please, please, PLEASE…don’t do anything rash.  Don’t say Damn The Man and bail.  Not without thinking it through.  Not without having a back-up plan.  Not without having another job lined up.  Because if you don’t have one, you may not find one for a very long time.

Just remember when reading all that online advice out there:  Not all of us are “A” players.  We’re just trying to stay afloat.  Act accordingly.

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

