Birthday wrap-up (heh, wrap, as in presents)

This past weekend was my 34th birthday blitz!   It was pretty much everything I could have asked for it to be.

Friday started off as an awesome day, because I took the day off of work.  I had planned on sleeping in, but that didn’t really happen.  Eric woke me up before he left for work to give me presents, and then I dozed for a little while.  Then Mom called at 730am (1030am her time on the East Coast).  She forgot that I had taken the day off, and thought she’d catch me as I was heading to the office.  I can’t be mad, though…it’s MOM.  Plus I chatted with my Dad for a few minutes as well.  My birthday is also their anniversary (and yes, I’m the gift that keeps on giving, year after year).  So, since I was awake, I decided to start my fabulous day of fun!

First stop – Jamba Juice.  I highly recommend their Chunky Strawberry Topper – strawberries (obv), peanut butter, bananas and granola.  Health and deliciousness, all in one.  Unless you are allergic to peanuts, like one of my friends from college…then this option is not for you.

Next up – Fashion Valley Mall.   I usually do not wander anywhere NEAR this mall.  The name of it sounds pretentious enough, right?  But hell, I even went to NORDSTROM.  I wouldn’t set foot in that store if I hadn’t had a gift card.  I managed to get some make-up and have about $4 left on the card.  Victory.  I then got shoes from Macy’s (couldn’t find a link to a picture – but they are platform black leather open toe shoes) and a dress from JC Penney

Afternoon – Lunch and a Pedi with my friend Sonya.  The lunch was a delicious salad that she made with greens, tomatoes, goat cheese, dried cranberries and pumpkin seeds.  What’s all this healthy eating going on today?  Sheesh.  After lunch, Sonya and I caused a ruckus at the nail salon because we are loud and silly and boisterous.  We think know we are funny.  I’m not sure the rest of the patrons of the salon, or the staff, agreed.  Meh, whatever.  Sonya and I giggled, relaxed and just had a great, great afternoon.  She also made me a bunch of 80s-style ribbon barrettes, like these:

Image courtesy of Retro80s.etsy.com

Image courtesy of Retro80s.etsy.com

All you 80s babies…are you DYING right now?  I am so psyched to have these…I wore one on Saturday night.  And Sonya MADE them, because she is crafty and awesome.  Thank you sweetie, for such an awesome day and gift!

Friday Evening – Eric eventually came home from work, and we headed over to Rubio’s (ah…health be damned!) for a quick bite.  I didn’t want to have too much, since I knew I’d be partying later.   Who knew I’d be a fan of the Fish Taco?  Coming from NJ (where the nearest Taco Bell was 45 minutes away), I’d never heard of this.  Fish Taco meant…um, something else.  But apparently it’s an actual food.   Rubio’s is a small chain out here…and of course, many people would bash me for going to a chain when there are so many great Mom and Pop Mexican places around here in SD, blah blah blah.  I DON’T CARE.  I wanted Rubio’s.  And Rubio’s I got.  Then there was time to rest and relax before getting ready to party!

Nighttime – I step into Gilly’s at about 930pm and it is PACKED.  Turns out there’s 2 or 3 other birthdays in the house!  I’d like to think that the decorations and streamers were for me, though.  It was great to see my friends, including ones I hadn’t seen in a little while.  I was really overwhelmed by it all.  Overwhelmed emotionally, and also in an ADD sort of way.  I couldn’t focus at all, because I had people talking to me, calling my name, handing me drinks…people singing me songs, giving me shout-outs.  I felt SO LOVED. 

I drank a lot of water in between my Coors Lights, and I think that’s what saved me.  However, my feet were killing me from the new shoes – the girl at Macy’s said she wore them all the time and they were sooooo comfy.  She LIED.  I walked home barefoot.  Yeah.  Gross.  But luckily it was only 1 block.  I walked barefoot in NYC once…same sorta drunk + painful shoes situation.  I lived.

Saturday – I slept in (a little), and went shopping and out to lunch with Eric.  We also stopped by where he works, because one of his co-workers was holding a bake sale to benefit breast cancer research/treatment.  Everything we got was DELICIOUS – fudge, zucchini muffins, chocolate-dipped pretzels, etc.  Sadly, we were too late to get in on the boobie cookies and rice krispie treats.   Saturday night closed with Artie G’s birthday bash (also at Gilly’s).  Sorry we left a little early, Art…I was SO beat from Friday!

On Sunday, Eric and I went to The Broken Yolk Cafe – the new location in the Gaslamp.  It hasn’t been getting the best reviews on Yelp, but I personally really enjoyed my breakfast.  And learned that I enjoy eggs over easy.  I usually just go for scrambled or an omelet, since I couldn’t tell you the difference between over-easy, over-light, over-hard, benedict…I got nothin’.  So I tried something new (to me) and *gasp* LIKED IT.  Eric then had to work, so I headed home and cleaned the house.  We munch on pizza later on and went for a walk around the neighborhood. 

It was a great weekend filled with simple pleasures. 

Probably the most exciting thing is that, as my birthday present, Eric is taking me to Seattle for Christmas.  Yep, the tickets are booked, and we’ll be spending a week in Seattle.   This is very exciting for us, because neither of us have ever been there, nor do we have family there to visit.  So this is pretty much our official first major vacation together.  We want to do touristy stuff, we want to do random stuff…so any Seattle Suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated!

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

