Not everyone is out to “add value”

When I read this post by Jamie, I got really pissed off.  Not by anything that Jamie said.  I just want to make that clear.  Jamie seems to be pretty rad, actually.

What pissed me off was this post that she linked to.  WOW.

Here’s the thing.  Social Media (blogging, Twitter, Facebook and the like) has become such a huge thing for the corporate world.  Hence why I now personally run the Twitter, LinkedIn and Facebook groups for the company I work for.  But now, all these “experts” (in what, exactly, who knows?) think that if you are not saying something deemed “important” or something that is “adding value” – what you’re writing is worthless.  Lisa Barone calls bloggers “whiny, annoying and vapid.”

You know what, then?  Click the X and close the damn page.  Some of those people who “didn’t post anything interesting”  actually MIGHT (in your opinion, anyway), someday.  They might blossom into eloquent writers and experts in their field.  Or maybe they won’t.  Who gives a shit?

Who the hell are you (or anyone else) to throw insult after insult just because they don’t currently fit into your view of the world and who should/should not be allowed to blog in it?

I started blogging back in 2001.  I spent a hot second on a site that was called “Dear Diary” or something to that effect.  I then made the transition over to Diaryland.  I had a personal diary, a group diary, and one where I posted my craptastic poetry.  I had a ton to say back then – most of it cryptic and angsty.   But it was all personal.  I didn’t have anything to teach anyone, nor did I have anything to sell.  I just wrote because I was, for lack of a better term, fucked up.  Getting it all out was one of the few healthy ways that I was able to deal with it all.

Over time, I had a great little group of people who read my blog regularly.  I got a lot of comments from people saying they could understand what I was going through, etc.

Hell, I even met my boyfriend through our online diaries.

But were any of these things part of my agenda?  Did I set out to educate or persuade the world through my writings on the internet?  Hell, no.  I just needed to get it out.

Many others do too.  Emo kids around the world.  People who have interests that they are obsessed with passionate about.  People who want to share stories with friends and family.  There’s a million other reasons that people blog, millions of things that people blog about.  Not everyone needs to teach someone else something.  Not everyone has an message to spread to the masses.  Some just need an outlet – and maybe through a keyboard is easier than with pen and paper.  If a small (or large) audience tunes in, great.  But it’s not necessary for everyone.

If you don’t like what’s being written out there, don’t read it.  But there’s no need to be a bitch and berate those who write and aren’t necessarily on the same page (heh, stupid pun, I know) as you.  Blogging is not necessarily journalism.  It CAN be, but it doesn’t HAVE to be.

People who think that their way as a paid, professional blogger is the only way need to get their heads checked.  It takes all types.  I think that’s part of the reason why I gave up on the 31 days to a better blog challenge.  Because I realized that it just wasn’t ME.  I’ve decided to stick to what I know, which is writing little anecdotes about my life, and my opinions on various things. If some readers decide to come along for the ride, then that’s awesome.  If not, so be it.

Is my style everyone’s cup of tea?  No. But face facts:  some of us just do this for fun. Deal with it and move on to the next blog that may or may not interest you.

You can take your need for everyone and everything to add some sort of value, and shove it up your ass.

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Not everyone is out to “add value”

  1. ABoyNamedArt says:

    Hear, hear. Sharing this on my Facebook.

    Btw, missed ya at the G last night.

    • meredithelaine says:

      REALLY?!?!? Thank you so much. That means a lot. 🙂

      Sorry I didn’t make it last night – spent all yesterday and last night sick. 😦 Boo…I will be there tonight though. Hope you make an appearance. (PS – the contest is COUNTRY tonight, LOL. Should be fun!)

  2. Erica says:

    I am so, so with you. That post was self-serving, self-important and a little ridiculous when you look into all the awesome “value” she is providing. It convinced me to unsubscribe.

Leave a Reply

