Don’t they know, it’s the end of the world

Last night I had a nightmare about the End Of  The World.

I’m not really sure if it was environmentally based (global warming, etc.) or war based. I’m leaning towards war, because I remember seeing missles. I don’t know who launched them, or why. They had combinations of words and numbers (such as “Jupiter7”). They caused red dots and streaks in the sky – maybe like the smoke/exhaust trailing from behind a plane, or maybe like fireworks.

It seemed like at this point in time, money was useless. So there was looting of stores for food and supplies. Not violent looting, just a panic to get whatever you could to survive this, if it was possible. My family and I went to the grocery store. As we drove, we saw post-it notes stuck on trees, telephone poles and street signs. Upon closer inspection, they were notes with names on them, saying “I’m fine.” I guess to let family and significant others know your status, should they come across one of these notes. We saw some for our relatives from Virginia.

Apparently, the world was running out of gas. As was our car. I told my father NOT to drive into the city (I’m assuming NY, or a larger city in NJ). I thought it was safest for us to stay in the suburbs or rural areas. Eventually our car ran out of gas and we walked. We came across these bulletin board/kiosk structures, which had multiple TV sets on them. These TVs were tuned in to news channels (CNN maybe?) which gave updates on the status of the world.

But we were running out of electricity too. Some of the TVs were off, some were flickering.

We came across a mall (shocking, considering that this dream seems to be based in NJ). The mall was completely unlocked, stores were open and being (calmly) looted. I came across some friends and we decided to give each other makeovers at the MAC counter in one of the department stores. The last thing I remember was deciding to make a video on my cellphone, to record my name and my story, for posterity. Should anyone survive this disaster.

I woke up at about 1am. I walked into the living room, gave Eric a hug and told him I loved him. I didn’t get back to sleep until 3am this morning.

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

