Get fresh at the weekend!

What a busy week.  I feel like this week has flown faster than the shortened week due to Memorial Day.  Most of it has been a blur, due to my panic attack on Sunday night, and just trying to get through the days, exhausted after having crazy nightmares.

Tomorrow evening, I have yet another networking event to go to.  After having gone to one last week.  Luckily, this one is a free happy hour, so I can munch on some snacks and have a margarita or two before karaoke.  I still don’t think networking is a strong point of mine, but the fact that I’ve been to 3 events in the past 2 months, and I haven’t run screaming yet really says something.

I’m happy that this week has gone quickly, because I’m pretty much ready for the weekend.   Aside from my usual karaoke shenanigans, I also have a surprise party to attend, and I’m also going to the Independence Jam.  I’m not really sure why it’s called Independence Jam, since it’s not Independence Day.  Maybe because all these “indie” bands are playing?  Which brings up a whole other thing – the fact that I have no indie cred whatsoever.  Not one shred.   I don’t dress the part, I don’t listen to the bands, I don’t follow the movement.  I think I know 1 and a half songs by one of the bands that is playing at this thing.  BUT…it’s a day out with friends, and that’s the important thing, right?

After having such a rickety start to the week, I’m just ready to kick back.

By the way, the title of today’s post is a line from Showing Out (Get Fresh at the Weekend) by Mel & Kim.  This is a rad 80s dance track, and the video is SO the epitome of it!

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Get fresh at the weekend!

  1. The Black Keys??? I miss them every time they come through here and I want to KICK MYSELF FOR IT. They are incredible. Old school blues rock. They’re pretty much amazing.

Leave a Reply

