To boldly go…

Well, Eric bribed me into going to see Star Trek.  He said that we could go to Costco afterwards.  Considering how much I hate going to the movies, this was a pretty tough bribe to take.  But I did.

I actually do have a bit of history with Star Trek.  The first movie that I ever saw in the theater was The Wrath of Khan.  My father took me at the tender age of 7.  I don’t remember a damn thing about the movie, and I haven’t seen it since.  So, I figured I could at least go to see this latest Star Trek incarnation.  At least I wouldn’t be completely clueless.  I know who Spock and Kirk are.

And I have to say, I enjoyed it.  As much as I have a raging case of ADD, and HATE going to movies, this one held my attention.  And it probably didn’t hurt that some of the actors/characters were hot.  Which pains me to say.  Because it seems like you can take any kinda-culty series these days, plop some pretty people in there, and it will be a hit.  And I kinda-sorta got sucked into that.

However, I say “pretty people” begrudgingly, because these people plopped in these culty-series-things are who about 98% of the rest of the world thinks are pretty.  I, for the most part, do not.

I do not see the allure of that dude from Twilight.  Which I just actually had to google to make sure that he in fact is the guy from Twilight.  That’s how little I know about the movie and the actor.  But, in my opinion (which, of course, is a BAD opinion)…he is not hot in the least.  He looks high (and not cute-pot-smoking-stoner high, but, like crazy-deranged-junkie high), he looks mean, and he has weird hair.  Just, EW.  But then again, I never gave a shit about Harry Potter or Lord of the Rings.  Christ, don’t even get me started on LOTR.  I think I saw the 2nd one, because my friend and her cousins were going.  That was about 3 hours of my life that I will never get back.  Walking trees? WTF?

I don’t know, I just lump it all in the same catagory.  Vampires (that’s what Twilight is about, right?), magic stuff, walking trees, weird little creatures…I have no interest.   I guess I just can’t suspend my disbelief enough to get really into it.   So most of my fannish, cheesy, OMG am I really a 12 year old girl? squealing goes towards musicians.

But Star Trek did not make me want to tear my hair out, and managed to go by really quickly.  I liked the humor they threw in, and their subtle nods to the Star Trek of yore.  And then afterwards I got to buy a cute pair of shoes from Payless, and got to drop some cash at Costco.  I highly recommend Costco’s Tri-Color Chickpea Salad.  It’s delicious and summery.   I also can’t wait to try the Shrimp and Crab Ravioli we bought.  I also got a new mop/broom, which makes me happy.  Reusable, cleanable microfibery goodness.

Yeah, it doesn’t take much.  But I got to spend quality with my man, we had popcorn for breakfast, and then went shopping.  And that is some of the best stuff EVER.

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To boldly go…

  1. humanresourcespufnstuf says:

    I’m glad to know that exchanging shopping credits for movie going is a universal technique. I know Watchmen cost me 1 new dress and a trip to the spa.

    Popcorn for breakfast does in fact rule btw.

  2. meredithelaine says:

    Most of the time, Eric will just go by himself ( he has no qualms about doing stuff like that…*I* however, could NEVER EVER do it), or with a bunch of his friends from work (like he did for Watchmen, actually).

    But I figure, if I have at least some sort of interest or connection to the movie, I should at least try.

    Movie tix at 10am were only $6 each! I was floored. However, no discount on the breakfast popcorn. 😦

Leave a Reply

