I’m leavin’ on a jet plane

This time tomorrow, I’ll be sitting in the airport, with Eric (boyfriend extraordinaire) drinking my face off to calm my nerves.  Because I hate flying, and because I no longer am on any of my meds (hence, ergo, no Xanax).  So, tomorrow I’m leaving work at noon, completing  the last minute pre-travel tasks that I need to, and then off to the airport we go!

I’m heading to New Jersey.  My home state.  I have not seen any of my family in 2 years.  I’m totally excited and plan on cramming as much as I can into 4 days.  Yeah, totally short trip, since I pretty much used up all my comp time back in January during the move and being sick, blah blah.  The agenda goes something like this:

Friday

6am – Land at Newark Airport.  Yeah, I know…Newark at the ass-crack of dawn.  Doesn’t sound like the smartest decision, right?  Well, I’ve done it before, and Dad is already planning to meet us there.

7am(ish) – Arrive at Mom and Dad’s house.  Eric will probably pass out and sleep for the next 5 or 6 hours.  I will have breakfast with Mom and Dad.

8 or 9am – SHOPPING WITH MOM!  Several years ago, I got my Mom to go Black Friday Shopping with me.  And she LOVED it.  Every year, at Thanksgiving, she calls me and tells me how much she misses it.  So, Mom is beyond excited to just travel up and down Rt 23, and go to every mega-store within a 20 mile radius.

The shopping expedition will likely last several hours, and may include lunch with my sister.  Or she may join us shopping.  She’s a busy lady these days, so she’s going to give us a call to coordinate.

Afternoon – Most likely, I’ll spend this chunk of time watching TV with Mom, gossiping and whatnot.

Evening – Chinese Take-Out with Mom and Dad.  OMG, you all have NO idea how much I miss decent Chinese food.  San Diego has many good Asian restaurants, but Chinese is not SD’s forte.  Afterwards, since Mom and Dad go to bed super early,  Eric and I will probably just chill at the house, watch TV, or maybe go to a bar or something.

Saturday

My nephew, who is 8, is in Little League (what boy in NJ isn’t???), has a game…at 8:30AM.  Agh.  I am going to TRY my very, very best to make an appearance, for at least a little while.

Then, Eric and I are heading to NYC.  Eric, being a small-town Texas native, has never been, so even though NYC puts me into a panic, we’re going to go.  One of his buddies from TX lives in upstate NY, so he’s going to meet up with us at the Diner Where Seinfeld And His Friends Hung Out. Then, we’ll be meeting up with a few of my college friends for dinner and drinks.  Most likely…more drinks than dinner.   Also, my best friend from 8th grade is trying to make it.  We lost touch after she moved out of state, but recently connected on Facebook.  Seriously.  Haven’t seen the girl in 15+ years!   So it should be an awesome time all around.

BUT.

Honestly, NYC makes me so nervous.  The thought of driving into the city, finding a parking garage, and then trying to get a cab here there and everywhere – or navigate the subway system – puts me in such a state of dread, I can’t even tell you.  I have no sense of direction to begin with.  This may end in tears.  That’s how absolutely miserable the thought of going to NYC makes me.  Since Eric’s never been, it’s kinda up to me to navigate our way there.  Which is something I’ve never really done.  Usually that’s left to someone else.  But dammit, I’m almost 34.  So I can handle this.  Right?  RIGHT???

Yeah, I’ll be weeping in frustration.  But I love my man, and I REALLY want to see my friends, so I shall persevere.

Sunday

My bestest bestest friend from high school is coming to see me!!!!!  I’m so excited.  I haven’t seen her in about 2 years either.  Her daughter is 4 now (oh GOD), and her son is just a few months old, so I’ll be meeting him for the first time.  Becca is so awesome.  It’s so hard to keep in touch, with her having a family (and being on the East Coast), but when we do get to talk…it’s like no time has passed.  And we’re SO different in a lot of ways, but that has never ever mattered.  I love her so much.

Sunday evening consist of the awesome family dinner out!  Not sure where we’re going, but it’ll be one of the nicer local spots.  Me, Eric, Mom, Dad, my sister, bro-in-law and nephew.

Monday

Honestly, nothing is really planned for this day.  Our flight back to San Diego leaves at 545pm, so we’ll have to leave the house around 2pm or so to head to the airport.  So most likely, I’ll just be chillin’ with the fam.

So I’ve got a lot of planned things going on, and some time in-between for flexibility.  I’m going to be so tired after this trip.  But I really need it.  I’ve been feeling very stressed and disconnected lately.  I’m so excited to see my family and friends and just rejuvenate a little bit.

This post probably is not very interesting to most readers, but just writing it out and thinking OMG, this weekend is going to be so much fun! is really good for me.

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m leavin’ on a jet plane

  1. Erica says:

    You can handle New York! Treat yourself to a cab while you are here. Especially since your boy has never been. I love the subway, but there is something magical about watching the neighborhoods blend into one another that only being above ground can show you.

    Also, the weather is gorgeous here lately. Perfect time to visit!

  2. humanresourcespufnstuf says:

    Enjoy your trip! NYC ain’t nothin’ but a thang to get around, Erica’s right cabbing it is easiest, and a great way to see the city.

Leave a Reply

