I felt like a grown-up today…sort of.

Well, I managed to not get too out of control at karaoke last night. I drank water in between my Coors Lights. Because today I went out to lunch with my boss and one of our clients. I figured it would be best if I didn’t vomit on an HR Manager.

Last Night’s Playlist:

  • Need You Tonight – INXS (Not my best work – I probably wouldn’t sing this again)
  • Sugar We’re Going Down – Fall Out Boy
  • Frozen – Madonna
  • Son Of A Preacher Man – Dusty Springfield
  • Fairytale of New York – The Pogues f/Kirsty MacColl (I sang this as a duet with my boyfriend.  Christmas in April! HOORAY!)

Lots of water + leaving the bar long before last call = no painful headache/nausea/hangover today.

So this morning I decided to get all dressed up.  And by dressed up I mean not wearing jeans and a Fall Out Boy hoodie. I wore my professional-ish pants. In black. I thought they were brown when I was super-groggy and dressing in the semi-dark, but no…black. And a black shirt. But at least my shoes were snappy (I can’t find a picture, but they are ballet flats with little strips of different colors and patterns of fabric!  They go with EVERYTHING).

All throughout lunch, I kept thinking, “How is this my life?”  Lunch with a client?  REALLY?

Honestly, I felt like a kid sitting in with the grown ups.  And we were at a very casual lunch at Chili’s, for God’s sake!  By the way, I HIGHLY recommend the Quesadilla Explosion Salad.  I eventually relaxed a little bit, and it was fun.  It helps that the client is totally rad and has a snarky, hysterical personality.   I just can’t seem to get over this complex I have around professional-types that make more money than I do.  It’s so WEIRD.  As if I’m not an equal.  Which, I’m not, in terms of salary or power or title.  But I’ve been in this industry for YEARS.  Plus,  I’m not a spring chicken – my boss is only 3 years older than me!  It’s not like I’m a 19 year old intern.

But I have to say, I look pretty nifty in my all-grown-up clothes.  Which are probably really considered “business casual,” but whatever.  I live in jeans, hoodies, v-necks (because my cleavage rocks) and other forms of comfy clothes.  But tonight, I may even wear this big-girl outfit to the bar.  But with these shoes.   And sing karaoke while looking like a junior executive or marketing assistant or something.  WHY?  Because I CAN.

Meanwhile, completely unrelated:  this commercial is absolutely precious.   I don’t understand the game, I have no idea what Beyonce’s is saying or singing, but DAMN if it doesn’t make me WANT THIS GAME.  Plus, Beyonce’s face at 0:24 is freakin’ cute.

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I felt like a grown-up today…sort of.

  1. Erica says:

    I do the same thing – despite being confident and in the workforce for like, years – I get giddy and strange when I have to chair a meeting or am CCd on executive level stuff. Same thing when I talk to clients and introduce myself as a manager or department head, or project any authority. Such dweebs 🙂

  2. meredithelaine says:

    Exactly. I clearly know what I’m doing, for the most part, or else all this trust and all the new responsibilities wouldn’t be placed on me, but inside, I feel like the biggest tool, and I know that I come across way younger than I am.

    I think a lot of it has to do that I associate being successful in business or whatever, with being a cookie-cutter corporate drone. Or with never home and never having time (much like my dad was at times growing up), and I just want to NOT BE THAT.

    Gah, frustration.

Leave a Reply

