I have no idea why people even like me

Today, I’m supposed to interlink old blog posts.   Considering that I only have a handful of posts to date, there’s very little to go on.  However, you can get a slight primer of me by browsing through my old (ish) posts.  You can find out what I like to do most of all.  You can learn that I’m clumsy.  And that I get cranky.

In addition, just because I feel like throwing it out there.  I should probably let you know that in a lot of ways, I have unpopular opinions.

For example – I don’t like Coldplay.  I know that most of the world thinks that Chris Martin is God, or at least a direct disciple of Bono (oh, we’ll get to him), but there’s MAYBE a song and a half of Coldplay’s that I like.  Maybe a few more that I can tolerate.  I bought one of their CDs, I bought into the hype.  And found it painfully boring.

I also don’t watch Grey’s Lost House.  Or whatever that show is called that is so popular.  You know the one I mean, right?

Going to the movies is torturous for me – for several reasons.  I have ADD, so I don’t have the attention spam for 3 hours of plot.  Remember back in the 1980s, when movies were about 80-90 minutes long?  Yeah, that’s about where I max out.  Also, the thought of being in a dark room, trapped with NO ESCAPE, is just terrifying.  Not because I’m scared of the dark or of crowds.  More like, there’s other things I could be DOING.  I could be cleaning, or grocery shopping, or sleeping.  There’s something I’m missing when I’m stuck in an uncomfortable seat struggling to pay attention.  This is much to the chagrin of my boyfriend, who LOVES movies.  I don’t know how to get over it, or past my issues.

There are a lot of things; however, that I am on par with at least a chunk of the of the rest of the world on.  I enjoy Jon Stewart and Stephen Colbert (when I catch their shows, that is).  I like American Idol.  I love train-wrecky VH1 Celebreality shows.  I like fast food.  But then again, I also like tofu.  I love hip-hop, pop-punk, 80s, motown, choral music…the list goes on.

So there’s gotta be something in there that’s likeable about me, right?  Did you notice how I tried to balance out the “I hate…” section with, “but I love…”?   Yeah, I also hate confrontation and want to be a people pleaser.

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I have no idea why people even like me

  1. Jamie says:

    Thanks for the shout out!

    I’m so happy you read my blog. =)

    And, Erica from You Should Only Know is awesome!

  2. meredithelaine says:

    You are more than welcome. I love your blog and your perspective. 🙂 And yes, Erica most definitely rocks.

  3. humanresourcespufnstuf says:

    I’m pretty certain, not liking Coldplay is a good thing, a very good thing. If a record label (are they really still called record labels? Shouldn’t they be MP3 labels already?) feels that any song or group needs to be shoved down my throat to be likable, then I’ll just be contrary.

    • Meredith says:

      Thanks for the vote of support. I just know so many people who love them, and the critics love them, and I’m just…eh? They’re okay…? I guess? 🙂

  4. janes insane says:

    I’ve never listened to Coldplay, but I’m 50! lol
    I’m a total Daily Show addict, can’t get enough of Jon Stewart.
    love/hate/love/hate
    You make me laugh, Meredith

  5. janes insane says:

    Oh, I love you!!
    Yes, 50, but I love getting older. (another new revelation) Have you heard that song, “When I grow up I wanna be an old woman”? I LOVE that song.
    My kids are 28 and 26…. see, I’m really 1/2 of a century old!

  6. Pingback: To boldly go… « I’d rather be elsewhere, most likely

Leave a Reply

