Niche-y, gitchy ya ya da da

Today is Day #4 of the …blah blah blah, you know what I’m talking about.  I’m supposed to analyze a top blog in my niche.  My niche?  I don’t have no stinkin’ niche! I’ve been searching around for some thirty-something blogs, and I’m finding that I don’t have a lot in common with a lot of the writers – I don’t own a home, I’m not a Mommy, etc.  Hell, I’m not even married yet.  Though I was engaged once, many many moons ago.  But that’s another story for another post.

Where are the blogs for the thirty-somethings who fail at life?  I can’t be the ONLY one, can I?

So I’ve looked at some twenty-something blogs, and perhaps I have a little bit more in common with some of them.  I think I’ll stop searching there, because really, if I have even MORE in common with teenaged Miley Montana fans, then I’ve got PROBLEMS.

I’ve always been a late bloomer.  When I blogged back in the day, in my twenty-something years, I was very emo.  I wrote heart-on-my-sleeve posts, and was very open about my various issues – depression and other emotional/mental problems, relationships, etc.  I even wrote angsty poetry.  And people flocked to it.  I had a lot of regular readers, was top ranked on a site that, sadly, no longer exists (Clix/diarist.net).

But I’m just not in that place anymore.  Oh, I’ve still got issues and problems, but for the most part, I’m happy.  I have a wonderful boyfriend, my job is good, my relationship with my family is better than it has been in a while…all that good stuff.  With that happiness, though, comes the loss of a muse, it seems.

And it’s damn frustrating.

I don’t write for profit – I just write to get it out.  I write to connect with people.  So far, I’m feeling like my latest attempt to do this is an epic fail.  Granted, I’ve only had this new blog for what, a week?  But I’ve had my twitter for a few years, and started really getting back into it a few months ago.  The 31DBBB has given me a bunch of new followers, but do they really give a crap about what I’m tweeting?  I haven’t followed many of them back, because a lot of them appear to be social media/blog marketing gurus who probably just want me to pay them to help increase my SEO, whatever that is, or design a layout for my page, or become my life coach because, you know, I’M A THIRTY-SOMETHING WHO FAILS AT LIFE.   So, I’m picky about my refollowing.  No offense, folks. 🙂

What I want is for people to see me and think that maybe I’m someone worth listening to (reading, whatever).   I want people to say, “Wow, Mer, you’re a chubby, weird, thirty-something with more issues than you can shake a stick at.  You’re struggling to get by, but you seem nice.  You’re funny sometimes.  You like Coors Light and karaoke.  I think I want to keep you.”

Do I sound needy or WHAT?  Well, maybe that’s because I am.  I’ve been struggling for acceptance and love since pretty much the womb.

All in good time, I suppose.  Rome wasn’t built in a day, as the saying goes.  And neither will my massive blogging empire, I guess.

Meanwhile, tonight I’ll be indulging in two of the things that I love – Coors Light and karaoke.

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Niche-y, gitchy ya ya da da

  1. Callisto says:

    Hey don’t feel bad about not finding your niche. I’m struggling with it too. And don’t feel bad about relating more with people younger than you- at least you’re not reading a retiree’s blog (do they have blogs?) about their good times in the nursing home and thinking to yourself, “Hmm that sounds like me!” To be honest, I’ve felt weird lately because I live in a small town and there are maybe three other 20-somethings here. So all my friends are teenagers and the middle-aged parents of those teenagers. It’s not so bad, but when I come online there are others out here in Internetland who can relate to me, but I just haven’t found them yet. I’m sure there are people who can relate to your blog, they just haven’t found it yet. Heck, I relate and I don’t really fit your criteria.

    And I have to throw in that I feel the same way about Twitter. I hate that rule that if I don’t follow somebody back, they’ll unfollow me. What is this, Kindergarten? What if I don’t *care* about their tweets of great bikini pictures of the week?

    Wow I just left a really weird rambling comment. I apologize for that… It’s late. I need sleep. I’m going to go do that now. Haha, good night. Good luck.

    • meredithelaine says:

      No need to apologize for rambly comments – I love them! And you make a lot of good points…thanks for keeping me encouraged.

  2. humanresourcespufnstuf says:

    Coors Light and Karaoke rock, that’s a sweet niche to have! Who’s to say you can’t be the only one in your niche, there’s alot to be said for individuality. You also have a niche in the category of “honesty”, it’s not as big a niche in the blogosphere as one would hope.

    I’m hereby staking my niche as Jack Daniels and Rockband.

  3. meredithelaine says:

    Thanks for all the compliments! I feel all warm and fuzzy now!

    And a little bit hungover, to be quite honest. Too many Coors Lights. 😉

    Have a great weekend!

  4. jane says:

    Your post reminds me of my daughter, she’s 28, not married, no kids, doesn’t own a house. From someone a little older and hopefully wiser, you are succeeding at YOUR life! You could have “settled” and gotten married, had kids by now & would probably have a house, but you are a strong enough woman that you’re true to your gut.
    Remember when you moved to Ca? At the time, I was totally shocked that you were going to move so far away from home & I honestly didn’t think you’d stay here, but you did. That in itself is a huge accomplishment.

    If I can give you 1 piece of advice, and obviously I’m going to do that, stop trying to follow what you consider the “social norms.” 50% of the married people will end up divorced, most will be single parents, they’ll be stuck in jobs they hate cuz they have a mortgage to pay. You’re FREE! The world is your oyster… literally.
    You’ve got to realize what you do have & really cherish it, because these are some of the best years of your life. I can guarantee you when you are 50 you’re going to look back @ this time in your life & realize how good it was. The whole thing is to realize that NOW.

    Oh, and you can sing?? When I sing my pig literally walks out of the room… I am not kidding.

    • meredithelaine says:

      Thank you so much Jane! Honestly, I’ve – for the most part – come to terms with not being on par where the “social norms” are concerned. I’m far behind most of my good friends from high school/college. Coming to California gave me a new perspective, because all of a sudden, I knew people from all walks of life – not just the East Coast bubble I was used to.

      It’s only now that I’ve been reading blogs in my industry (HR/Recruiting) that I get so pissed off. I read them so that I can learn more about the industry in which I work, not to hear about how someone made a gazillion dollars while following their entrepreneurial spirit. And while spouting off advice that just isn’t practical for most of us struggling in the recession.

      I could rant about that shit all day…*sigh*

  5. Erica says:

    Can we be a niche of self-deprecating cheap beer lovers?

Leave a Reply

