Elevator Speeches

I have recently signed up for the 31-Day Build a Better Blog Challenge.  I think that this is more targetted toward people who want to make a living by blogging.  And honestly, I don’t think that that is in the cards for me.  But I figured that signing up for this and working on the various exercises would help me improve my blogging, find a focus for my blog, etc.

Of course, then the FIRST EXERCISE involves something I hate – “Elevator Speeches” – that is one of those phrases I can’t stand.  To me, it screams of corporate-fake-ass-smarminess.  Much like when people talk about “adding value” or “robust functionality.”    Every time I read a blog or column and it gives advice as to how I can “add value,” I want to find that person who wrote it and punch them in the face.  And I’m sorry, but the word “robust” should only apply to pasta sauce, not software programs or applications.

Aaaaaaand, again I digress.

Basically, for those of you who don’t know, an “Elevator Speech” is where you pitch yourself, talk about what you do and give your little spiel…in the time span of an elevator ride.  So a quick, snappy blurb of what I blog about.  Or, perhaps a witty tagline.

Now that I think about it, maybe I don’t digress.  Because as I read industry-related blogs and all these “woo hoo, look at the bright side, make your own success” articles…I’m pissed off.  It’s depressing to me, quite honestly.  Because that whole route/mindset is not realistic for all of us.  Are there more people who are rockin’ entrepreneurs making 6 figures by age 30?  Or are there more of us who are struggling, working paycheck-to-paycheck, and hoping that the bottom doesn’t fall out?  Not all of us have room to take risks in this day and age.

I’m going to be 34 in a few months – I’m not married, I don’t have any kids, I’m not uber successful.  I don’t have a gym membership, I don’t do brunches at trendy places with my fluffy lap dog in tow.  I shop primarily at Target, and I don’t consider J. Crew to be a recession-chic (it’s still kinda pricey, y’all).  But, I’m not at the very end of the rope, either.  I’m getting by.  I’d like to get better, sure, but I’m getting by for now.

And I guess my focus is going to be a collection of stories of an almost 34-year old who is trying to find the balance.  Between wanting to do the whole domesticated, mommy thing – and hitting the bar several nights a week.  That’s what I’ll be writing about.  Confessions of the eternal late-bloomer.

“Because not all 30-somethings have their shit together”

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

