Things that have been pissing me off as of late.

Things that are pissing me off these days:

1.  Stupid things people yelp:  things like eyelash extension salons.  Are you kidding me?  Who are the spoiled brats who can afford this shit right now?  Don’t get me wrong, I get my nails done and my eyebrows waxed as often as I can (though not nearly as much as I want or probably NEED.  I mean, HELLO, living pretty much paycheck-to-paycheck here).  But WHO in this day and age has upwards of $400 to get EYELASH EXTENSIONS???

I am an active yelper, but I review relatively NORMAL establishments – bars, taco shops, hair and nail salons, stores.  But things like eyelash extensions…that is just beyond crazy spurging to me.  Until yelp, I didn’t even know that shit existed.  Stuff like that just automatically makes me think, spoiled rich bitch.  Of course, I’m the girl that has barely bought any new clothes in the past few years, and anything that I have bought has been from Target or Old Navy.  Honestly, people who WILLINGLY pay $50 for a fucking tank top, are the types of people that I want to punch in the face.

So yeah, stupid shit people pay money for and then review online.

2.  This is a work related gripe that was driving me insane last week.  The HotJobs website has been having some sort of clitch, where it does not recognize San Diego.  I look for leads online for my boss, and even though when I type in “San Diego” and HotJobs gives me “San Diego” as an automatic suggestion, when I click “Search” I get the “I’m sorry, we do have any such city as San Diego.  Please try something we’ve heard of.”  I want to just throw the computer out the window at that point.  I do searches every day on multiple jobsites, and I have it down to pretty much a science.  So things that cause snags in my method REALLY piss me off and put me on edge.

I have a job to do, and I get pulled in a million different directions by my team.  So I can’t get sidetracked by stupid glitchy crap.

3.  My skin and my hair.

Currently my hair is not behaving no matter how I blow dry it, how many types of brushes I use, what kind of styling products I apply, how much I flat iron it, or how much hairspray I destroy the environment with.  One side seems to want to comply, but the other flips up in a weird direction.   If I don’t used conditioner, my hair gets all flyaway; if I do, it can get greasy.  If I don’t used an iron and/or straightening balm, I end up with hair that’s half-wavy/nappy, half-straight.  God, I need a haircut so badly (that would be a plea to my girl Shani, who is a graduate of the Paul Mitchell School.  Man, I gotta remember to stalk her at the salon she’s at now).

Then there’s my skin – if I don’t put on any moisturizer, it gets somewhat dry.  Plus, I’m (almost) 34 – I need to prevent the wrinkles.  However, when I use the moisturizer, my skin breaks out as if I’m 14. So then I apply all sorts of Clearisil/Oxy-esque products, which eventually leave me with flaky, dry pimples that still take 3 weeks to disappear.  This in-between stage of my life is really frustrating in that respect.  By the way, that Clearisil Pimple Pen thing does NOT work.  Don’t waste $13, just take my word for it.

Ah, I love being in my 30s.

Stupid little things, but annoying.  And a bunch of little annoying things add up.

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Things that have been pissing me off as of late.

  1. I DIDN’T EVEN KNOW PEOPLE GOT EYELASH EXTENSIONS. WHY DO YOU NEED EYELASH EXTENSIONS?

    SRSLY.

    Ok, capslocky rage done. I hear you on the hair thing. Mine has a mind of its own. So like, in 2007, over the summer, I bleached my hair and then tried some reds on it and wow, it was a mess. But E and I were going through this hair experiment thing (it worked much better on hers than mine) and w/e. About a month and a half ago, I cut off what I think were the last bits of destroyed, blonde bits of hair in a fit of hair rage. My hair is much happier now and so am I. But really? A year and a half? I’d dye my hair my natural color or a little darker and those blonde bits would still be there, MOCKING ME.

    And my skin…GIRL. Nothing I use on it makes it happy anymore. I bought this nifty Regenerist stuff on clearance a while back. What a waste. I don’t know if you’ve used any of it but it is SO THICK. I feel like I’m wearing a mask. The face wash is ok but this day moisturizer is just too much for me. I was mostly bummed because it has ~shimmer~ so I got to make really lame sparkly vampire jokes when I wore it.

    Sorry for writing a novel 😀

    • meredithelaine says:

      Never apologize for you writing a novel, silly girl!

      I suppose you (the universal you, not *you* you) need lash extensions to be all flirty and sexy and appealing to the menfolk. Seriously, WTF. I can think of a gazillion better things to spend $400 on than EYELASHES.

      It makes me smile to think of you and E all blond and shimmery. 🙂

  2. Pingback: List Post « I’d rather be elsewhere, most likely

  3. Pingback: I have no idea why people even like me « I’d rather be elsewhere, most likely

  4. Pingback: Twistin’ by the pool « I’d rather be elsewhere, most likely

Leave a Reply

