That’s what I get for, oh, I don’t know, SLEEPING.

This past Friday night, I had a migraine like you wouldn’t believe.  So, being the super party-girl/rockstar that I am, I got home from work and was in bed by round about 630pm.  I slept on and off through the night.

Saturday morning at about 10am, there’s a knock at the door.  I open the door (complete with bed-head and looking oh-so-sexy in my PJs), and it’s a cop.  He asks me if I was home last night, and if I heard or saw anything suspicious.  Apparently our next door neighbor’s apartment was broken into at some point.  While I was next door.  At home.  Alone.  Sleeping.

Nervewracking to say the least!  I told the cop that yes, I was home, but I was sleeping pretty much from 630pm on, due to said migraine.  I told him that I probably heard some noise, but nothing outside the norm.  After all, our complex was built in 1692 (ok, more like 1930, but STILL), and the walls are paper thin.  I hear people walk around, cough, sneeze, play Rock Band and (occasionally) have sex.

Apparently the suspects bashed in the back door and windows.  I don’t recall hearing anything that loud, but then again, when I have a migraine, I try to block out everything.

As a result, I freaked out.  Panicking, I said to the boyfriend, “What if they had chosen our place?!?!?!!”  He said, “But they didn’t.”  And I said, “BUT THEY COULD HAVE!”  Since the boyfriend works 2 jobs, I spend a lot of time at home alone.  Other than bolting the door and keeping the lights and TV on, I’m not sure what else to do.

I’ve pretty much always either lived in tiny towns, safely gated complexes, or sleepy communities.  So, I’m not used to *shudder* CRIME.  A break-in this past weekend NEXT DOOR, and a shooting a few blocks away last month.  I’ve led a sheltered life, that’s for sure.

I’m just not sure how I’m supposed to deal.

About meredithelaine

thirty-something. karaoke diva. just trying to get by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to That’s what I get for, oh, I don’t know, SLEEPING.

  1. sarabellem says:

    Good to see you blogging again…I need to start up again. This was the door brace I texted you about. I got mine from Target. I feel a lot more secure with it.
    http://www.survivalinstinct.com/bigjamdoorbr.html

    • meredithelaine says:

      Oooh, thank you SO much. I’m going to forward that link to myself so I remember to pick it up! And yes, start blogging again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

